1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No internet access with Internet Security

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Teresa Jemtl, Sep 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Teresa Jemtl

    Teresa Jemtl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    We have installed Norton Internet Security system and have had nothing but problems with our internet service since. We recently had DSL installed and the problem has worsened. I called Qwest and have literally spent hours with the support techs. The last time was Monday. We tried every configuration possible and finally he concluded it was the Security. I need to be on the internet frequently and the only way I can access it is by disabling the security, which makes me very uncomfortable. Can you please help? Thanks Teresa
     
  2. Teresa Jemtl

    Teresa Jemtl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4
     
  3. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Dump NIS and get ZoneAlarm
     
  4. XxMattxX

    XxMattxX

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Just my own opinion, buy Norton is one of the worst security systems. It slows your PC down so much that you think it's crashed sometimes. Most computer work that I do for people I ask first if they have Norton on their systems. The second thing I do is uninstall it. You can get other programs for internet security. My suggestion is getting an external firewall for your PC and then run an internal firewall that is effecient, plus a virus scanner. If you haven't downloaded SP2 yet, then it's a good place to start. I know a lot of people like Norton, but they also are all brainwashed... :) You can get an external for about $80.
     
  5. mimo2005

    mimo2005

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    I am not sure if it is your case ,but so many people that installs a internet security like a firewall , when they just launch a prog like Iexplorer , the firewall ask you first time if you want that application connect to the net , they click NO ,what ! no ,so how are u gonna surf if you tell your firewall to block everything !!!!
     
  6. Teresa Jemtl

    Teresa Jemtl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you for your reply, just about everyone agrees with you. I appreciate your help.Teresa
     
  7. Teresa Jemtl

    Teresa Jemtl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you for your reply, it seems most agree with your opinion. I appreciate your response. Teresa
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - internet access Internet
  1. Rose789
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    907
  2. dragster1981
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    1,649
  3. vbivins
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    737
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271742

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice