1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no internet after random period

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rageagainst, Dec 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rageagainst

    rageagainst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I've read about this problem around these forums but mine is a bit different. I have Windows XP Pro SP3. After a random period of maybe 30 mins to a few hours, my internet connection seems inexistant. PC reacts like there is no internet cable plugged in. I've checked the ipconfig command in command prompt before my internet shuts down and after and there was a change. A few lines(IPs) were missing after my internet fell.

    Does anyone know that my problem is about and how can I solve it??
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Is this the only PC that disconnects - do other devices connected work OK - if so how are they connected to the router - wireless or wired

    would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

    if you are connected by wireless, please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions - see how below.

    Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if you have a separate modem, the make and exact model of the modem.

    Please make a note of the status of the lights on the modem and on the router when working normally - post that light status here.
    Now when the internet disconnects make a note of the status of the lights for the modem and router here again. also note which have changed.

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. rageagainst

    rageagainst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    It is the only PC I own. It has a wired connection, plugged outside of my apartment in a sealed box by the ISP.

    The only firewall that I am aware of is the windows firewall which is usually active. I've had AVG / Avast antiviruses in the past IIRC.

    -ipconfig /all results when internet is working:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : computer_1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-8D-73-5B-C1
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.161.93
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    PPP adapter rds:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 86.121.68.207
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 86.121.68.207
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.154.124.1
    193.231.252.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    -ping test with my default gateway:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\asd>ping 86.121.68.207

    Pinging 86.121.68.207 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 86.121.68.207: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 86.121.68.207: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 86.121.68.207: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 86.121.68.207: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 86.121.68.207:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\asd>

    -ping with google.com:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\asd>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [62.231.75.212] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 62.231.75.212: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=61
    Reply from 62.231.75.212: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=61
    Reply from 62.231.75.212: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=61
    Reply from 62.231.75.212: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=61

    Ping statistics for 62.231.75.212:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 15ms, Average = 11ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\asd>

    -ping with 209.183.226.152::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\asd>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=128ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=125ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=125ms TTL=52
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=125ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 <0% loss>,
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 125ms, Maximum = 128ms, Average = 125ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\asd>

    These are the results while the internet connection is active. Will reply with the results when my connection will drop.
     
  4. rageagainst

    rageagainst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ok - thanks - not sure why you could not copy the 2nd time - but the images are fine

    you appear to have lost connection completely via the modem

    are you able to see the modem at all - or do you just have a cable from the sealed box - directly to the PC ?
     
  6. rageagainst

    rageagainst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Just a cable straight out of the box. Can't see/check it.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Is this a complex and anyone else using the sealed box or just you ?

    what are you using now

    lets remove AVG

    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
     
  8. rageagainst

    rageagainst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    It connects the whole staircase to the internet.

    I am not using any antivirus in the present. I figured, a fresh windows installation is welcomed every couple of months considering I'm not storing anything on my pc. But it seems recently my cd-rom fails me and I thought this problem can be solved 'for the moment' at least.

    Do I still have to use those tools you linked me to?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,986
    First Name:
    Wayne
    anyone else having issues? would be worth knowing to isolate if its your connection or the modem and ISP issue ?

    AVG and other security suite that have been on the system , even if un-installed via control panel often cause issues and the only solution is the removal tools - so I would suggest running the removal tool

    is this also a recent issue
     
  10. rageagainst

    rageagainst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I haven't spoke to any of my neighbours lately so I can't tell. I have heard of an exact issue however. Exceptions are that the respective person had an anti-virus and his cd-rom was working. He solved it with a fresh windows installation.

    I will run the removal tool.

    I will check the cables that connect the cd-rom. Maybe it's a physical issue.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082605

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice