1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Internet and ipconfig problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Nathan78906, Jan 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Hi windows 7 said I am connected to the Internet but I have limited activity. I've tried tons of things and nothing seemed to work. I even tried to reset winsock, didn't work. I did tons of things and nothing so I decided to create a help thread to see if anyone can assist me. Help is needed and greatly appreciated.

    When I do ipconfig /renew and release I get

    "The operation failed as no adaptor is in the state permissible for this operation,"

    Also I get this when I do ipconfig /all

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Seebarran1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\windows\system32>
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    theres no adapters shown in that ipconfig /all

    can we see a device manager screen shot - see below
    also
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
    I have known AVG and webroot to cause this

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if the above does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    once you are in device manager then

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ----
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I've had avast, macafee which came with the computer, Microsoft Security essential, and Rogers online protection. I deleted them all properly with removal kits except for Microsoft Security essential. Also I use windows firewall..I'll get that screen shot soon.
     
  4. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Alright added.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    run all the security suite removal tools again
     
  6. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Done.... No viruses detected.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i meant run the removal tools - to remove the security suites again

    Mcafee Removal Tool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html


    --------------------------------------------------------------


    Rogers Online Protection Security Removal Tool
    http://kb.rogers.freedom.net/rogers.php?ToDo=view&Frame=0&questId=580&catId=13
    Direct Link
    http://dl01.radialpoint.net/Radialpoint/Uninstall/UserCommunity-Uu-RpsUU.exe

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Ah....Done those also.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did they run OK
    any other security suites - AVG Norton etc

    lets see an ipconfig /all but in
    safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking
     
  10. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I get literally the exact same thing. And all the removal kits worked good.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  12. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I tried sfc and it said it couldn't find any integrity violations.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  14. Nathan78906

    Nathan78906 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Hmm that didn't work. I guess I'll reinstall windows. But my laptop came pre installed with windows and I don't have an installation disk.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may have a hidden partition to install the software back to factory condition - BUT you should also have a facility to create a set of disks

    i would make those first - will need anything upto about 6 DVDs

    whats the make and model
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083222

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice