1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No internet/network access after taking CMOS battery out??

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lilcentric, Nov 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lilcentric

    lilcentric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    So i took out my CMOS battery to reset the bios, but now i dont have internet access for some reason?!? (before that it was fine)

    Motherboard is an asus p5n-e sli that has nforce network controller in it. I tried reinstalling the nforce software from nvidia's site but no dice (however i can now see the network connection thats failing...)

    - I am running windows 7 64x.
    - my mb chipset drivers are not available for win7 64x....the BIOS stuff is though

    attached are IPCONFIG and device manager

    please advise if you need more info!!

     
  2. lilcentric

    lilcentric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    forgot to note

    - router is D-Link DIR-635
    - modem is a little white Dynalink.. lol

    currently am on a laptop which is successfully connecting to the network wirelessly

    thnx!
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Did you test this exact cable on the laptop to make sure it's not the router port or the cable? If so, did you try booting this in Safe Mode with Networking?

    If none of that works, try this reset.


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.



    Post another IPCONFIG /ALL
     
  4. lilcentric

    lilcentric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    -tried connecting the laptop to the ethernet cable and it worked fine
    -tried restarting in safe mode with networking but still nothing

    I did the resets specified - however for the ipv6 reset it said
    'there are no user settings specified to be reset' (or something along those lines)

    Here is the ipconfig after the restart

     
  5. lilcentric

    lilcentric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    At this point, I'd reload the network drivers, because something is amiss there.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/877366