1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No internet/network access (Error 651)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Mikabmf, Dec 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mikabmf

    Mikabmf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I've just bought an Acer Aspire 5551-A with Windows 7 home premium edition. When I try to connect it to the internet using WiFi it works perfect but when I try to connect it using the broadband connection it won't connect saying there's an error (651) and it also says that the local acces network isn't working but it is enabled. I called my isp and they said I was having a problem with the raspppoe file but I changed it and I still have the same problem. Also tried re-installing my router and changing the ip adress and nothing and both ipv6 and ipv4 are shown as not connected because I don't have network/internet access.
    I must say the router works when I plug it to my computer (windows xp) and I have internet access. I don't know what to do...need help please!
    Thanks, Micaela. :eek:
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Click Start

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter

    Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  3. Mikabmf

    Mikabmf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    this is the screenshot..
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    According to that, everything should be in working order.

    Just in case, HERE is the LAN Driver for the Acer Aspire 5551.

    Install it, reboot, and see if you're able to connect with an Ethernet connection.
     
  5. Mikabmf

    Mikabmf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I did what you suggested me to do but I still get the same error..(and in the network panel says unidentified network and it's been set as a public network) any other thing I can try? :S
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Also, try disconnecting from the wireless network, plugging in the Ethernet cable, and doing the following:

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/970770

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice