1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Internet, Secured

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Nezothelioma, Oct 20, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nezothelioma

    Nezothelioma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Recently switched internet providers, and now my PC can't use the internet. Everything else works with the new wifi and router, including other laptops and phones, but not my PC. I can get as far as connecting to the wifi, but then it doest actually give me internet access. It just says No Internet, Secured. I had no problems with the old wifi, I have tried everything I can think of to fix the problem, but nothing seems to work. Unfortunately, attaching my computer to the router via ethernet cable is not optional. I appreciate any advice anyone has for me. Thanks
     
  2. Nezothelioma

    Nezothelioma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Just to add I can use a mobile hotspot from my phone to use the internet
     
  3. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,321
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Try connecting to WiFi and the running these commands from admin level command prompt

    Ipconfig /release
    Ipconfig /renew
    Ipconfig /flushdns
    Ipconfig /registerdns

    Press enter after each command. When done reboot pc and try internet
     
  4. Nezothelioma

    Nezothelioma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Tried this, but nothing happened. When I typed the first 2 commands, it said "no operation can be performed on Local Area Connection* 13 while it has its media disconnected".
     
  5. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,321
    First Name:
    Andrew
    That’s normal reboot the PC and try to connect
     
  6. Nezothelioma

    Nezothelioma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Still nothing. It just says No Internet, secured
     
  7. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,321
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Have you tried a different ethernet cable?

    If you run an ipconfig command whats the IP address for your machine?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,665
    First Name:
    Terry
    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.
    (In Windows 10 you may have to use some other procedure to get a Command Prompt window.)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after the command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  9. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
    Did you configure the new router with the same SSID (name) and key (password) as your old router?

    Since you didn't specify what you have tried, I can offer this as something you might not have tried:
    Try deleting the Wifi connection and setting it up again as a new connection.

    Click the Network icon on the lower right corner of your screen.
    Click Network settings.
    Click Manage Wi-Fi settings.
    Under Manage known networks, click the network you want to delete.
    Click Forget. The wireless network profile is deleted.
     
  10. Nezothelioma

    Nezothelioma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Yes sorry. This is something I've tried. I tried again but it didn't work. Thanks
     
  11. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
    You can try running ADWCleaner to check for any malware and do a basic network repair.
    Of course you will have to download it on a machine that does get internet and sneaker-net it over to the PC.
    After the scan for malware is complete, you will be given an option to do a basic network repair. You can try that.
    There are also settings available to have the basic network repair do more things.
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    Do you have any network security programs, like Norton?
     
  13. muppy03

    muppy03

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893
    First Name:
    Chris
    Try checking your security settings on the new modem/router. I had something similar with a tablet that wouldnt connect but everyother device in the house did. The modem security was set on wpa2psk and I had to change it to wpa+wpa2psk for the table to connect. Being that it is a PC is might be older than your other devices so might be set on the wpa. worth a shot.
     
  14. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    This is for your Ethernet connection so this is normal.

    If your router has a second, guest network, temporarily turn it on and set it without a password (open network) and try to connect to it. If you can, then we can look at the security
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1234505

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice