No IPv4/v6 connectivity after updates

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

llliquid

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
3
I have no network connection. wired or wireless on my laptop.
Device manager does not have any devices with red/yellow issues.

The ethernet device Realtek PCIeGBE does not show in ipconfig, but shows in Device Manager fine
Connection status says limited connection, IPv4 and IPv6 not connected

ipconfig /all and ipconfig /renew yield the following:


Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\User>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Drew>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

The operation failed as no adapter is in the state permissible for
this operation.


Please lend your assistance, this happened first after a windows update, then rolled back updates to fix. Now it happened when I disabled windows Test Mode and I can't get it to resolve.
UPDATE: Actually Java was updated, rolling back the update to see if fixed.

If rolling back this update fixes it, my question would be why do all updates cause this problem?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Click Start > Programs > Accessories > right-click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the Command Prompt, type in the bold text, one command after the other, pressing Enter between each one of them:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the computer.
 

llliquid

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
3
Thanks for the reply, I tried those commands before, but tried them once more and restarted to no avail. All commands executed without error. I don't understand how the devices (ethernet NIC & WiFi device) are OK in device manager, but completely absent from ipconfig /all.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
There is one non-error possibility for that. Check in Network Connections. Are the connections there, and are they enabled? Right click on the connection and select 'Enable.' If they are already enabled then 'Disable" them and re-enable.
 

llliquid

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
3
Yes they were enabled of course. Resinstalled windows as no forums seem to have a solution for the issue. Something must have been corrutped in the TCP/IP and nothing was going to fix it. All better now.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top