No Java Windows :(

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
I am running Win ME. For some strange reason I do not have any Java pop up windows. I looked at my security settings and they said the Java was engaged.

What else could be keeping my Java from working correctly?
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

If you have Java enabled, but still no Java, it's time to download and install <A HREF="http://www.microsoft.com/java/vm/dl_vm40.htm">Microsoft Virtual Machine</A>

Good luck,
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Virtual Machine installed. Some java works, but most does not.

If I could only get the Windows Updater to work then I would be happy.
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Thanks Tony, I will look through the articles.

When I go to Windows Update there is that Java window that is supposed to pop up, and mine doesn't. I get two different errors saying that it is expecting something.
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Well unfortunatly I tried all of the suggestions in the articles and nothing fixed the problem :(

If anyone else has any ideas, please post...
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Can you post the exact error messages you get at the Windows Update Site?

Is this file Wu3vis.dll part of the message?
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Also try this:

Shut down Internet Explorer and Outlook Express.
Go to Control Panel/Internet, and clear your temporary Internet Files.
Go to the Privacy tabs, and delete all cookies .

Now go to the Advanced tab, and click Restore Defaults.
Next, on to the Security tab, highlight 'Internet, and click restore defaults there as well.

Go to Start ->Run, and type each line below separately, then press OK:

regsvr32 c:\windows\system\vbscript.dll
regsvr32 c:\windows\system\mshtml.dll


Note: you should see a brief message after each entry.
Reboot and test IE - New Window, repost with your results.

If no joy,

Restore the file vbscript.dll from your Windows CD-ROM, or better still, from your IE installation cabs, if you still have them with SFC: How to extract files in Windows 98 and Windows Me

Good luck,
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
One error says "Exspected Statement"

The other one says "Object expected"


When I ran :

regsvr32 c:\windows\system\vbscript.dll
regsvr32 c:\windows\system\mshtml.dll

I got a "Load Library Failed" Error.
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Those last two loaded successfully. Does that mean they are ok, or should I still overwrite them from the Windows disk?

PS- Java still won't work, even after loading those two files...

PS PS- isn't this boards "spellcheck" Java based? Because IT works, it's just the Windows Update Java that isn't working...
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
These are the same files as the first time, but I just rephrased it to exclude a path error in case your Windows\System folder were to be on a different partition.

The files are there, and they are now registered as well.

You're saying 'some Java works, and some doesn't'.
Could you explain what exactly you mean by that?

I don't have anything else for you than is suggested in these MS articles.
Please go through the first 4 again.

Good luck,
 

Wet Chicken

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
What I mean by some Java works, and some does not is that it seems that most Java screens are popping up correctly, however when I visit the 'Windows Update' page the Java there does NOT work, and I get several errors (noted above).

I am going to try to find the e-mail page where I can get tech support from Microsoft, and have them try to figure this out, but I can't find the page where I send them a tech request..

Thank you for all of your help ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top