No LAN Connection on New Gigabyte mobo

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MinnE

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
5
Hi, All!
I have recently purchased a Ryzen 3 2200G, Gigabyte AX370M-DS3H motherboard and 1x8 2400mhz stick of ram running windows 10 home (not activated). After booting the system I wasn't getting any internet from my LAN cable, I tried replacing the cable with another, trying a different port on the router and installing a new LAN Drivers. After the drivers it started to work but not very well, It would take close to a minute to load up chrome as well as other browsers. I couldn't use apps like discord or steam and was given a No Connection error. I tried factory resetting the PC and then installing the latest drivers. After resetting it now says Unidentified Network and No Internet. I'm using a USB WiFi Adaptor plugged into a USB port in the front of my PC which lets me use the internet but still takes 10ish seconds to load pages. I'm suspecting it could be something to do with my motherboard as the internet seems fine on my laptop and phone as well as the LAN working fine on my previous PC a couple of weeks earlier. Im using a Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller and a Realtek RTL8191SU Wireless LAN 802.11n USB 2.0 Network Adaptor
Full PC: https://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/8mvgyX.
Ethernet: https://imgur.com/a/n3to6gJ
Network Adaptors: https://imgur.com/a/jmzv25E
LAN Driver: https://imgur.com/a/IoETXgI

I Added as much information as I could if anything else is needed just ask.
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,631
First Name
Allan
Disable the wireless adapter in Device Manager (right-click > Disable, if asked to confirm do so) then see if it's faster over Ethernet.
 

MinnE

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
5
Disable the wireless adapter in Device Manager (right-click > Disable, if asked to confirm do so) then see if it's faster over Ethernet.
I just tried that but the LAN isn't slow its just not actually working
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,631
First Name
Allan
Oh I see, I saw where you said it was 'working but not very well' and assumed that was still the case, after re-reading I see you did say it wasn't working now, sorry.

Actually try removing the Usb wireless adapter and restarting the PC, does the Ethernet work now ?
 

MinnE

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
5
Just tried it with no success, gets to identifying network then Unidentified Network with no internet.

Edit: Could it be an issue with my router / modem?
 

MinnE

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
5

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,631
First Name
Allan
I don't think it's the same issue, in that other thread the poster had an Intel network adapter and the fix was specifically for it.

I'm logging off now, will check back here later. Someone else here might have an idea in the meantime.
 

MinnE

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
5
I don't think it's the same issue, in that other thread the poster had an Intel network adapter and the fix was specifically for it.

I'm logging off now, will check back here later. Someone else here might have an idea in the meantime.
Alright thanks for trying to help, ill try and see if i can get it fixed.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,805
Was this a clean install of windows OR did you take a hard drive with windows already installed and connect it to this board?
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,201
First Name
Morten
Try downloading the latest LAN drivers from MOBO manufacturer.
Then de-install any and all s/w associated with it. and also with the WIFI.
Open device Manager and remove the NIC and WiFi. Confirm if asked to remove drivers.
Shutdown, remove Wifi dongle.
Restart and when system finds the NIC point to - or install - the previously downloaded drivers.

EDIT. Also disable/remove, just for testing, any firewall software. PLus, check the build of Windows 10. It may be that the latest one isn't supported.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top