1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No mouse

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by saracenman, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saracenman

saracenman Thread Starter

I am not good with Windows, being a Unix and Mac guy. But I have been asked by a friend to look at their PC.
    One day the keyboard just stopped working. Suspecting the teenage users had spilled coke or somesuch in it, the got an old eMachines keyboard and mouse and fitted them. This is all standard stuff, no USB no exotic contraptions. The PC is an iQon. When you boot it normally, it runs slow, veey slow. The keyboard now works, even though Windows has the wrong driver for it (thinks its some logitech Internet Keyboard), but the mouse does not work. There is no driver active. After about 10 hours with this box now, I still cannot get "Add Hardware" wizard to install a mouse driver. When it eventually runs, it does not have ANY mouse drivers listed anywhere. I have tried all routes through this blasted thing now.

As an aside, if I plug anything into the USB ports, or plug a 10BaseT patch into the network port, the machine reboots! And refuses to boot up until the device is removed.

I want to run the Lavasoft any-spyware tool on the box, cos I think it is infected with "winstal". But this stupid program does not use standard Windows APIs so I cannot use the keyboard to control it. Further more it wants to update itself from the web, a bit of a problem is connecting a network cable shuts trhe PC down!

Has anyone the faintest idea where I should start. My instincts are to start by placing the machine in the landfill and giving my friend my old PowerMac, at least that seems capable of using a mouse!

Yours frustrated.