No networks visible

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mklangelo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
426
The machine in question is running Windows 7 and the Wireless card is enabled but no networks are visible since the tray icon shows a red X. This is a friends laptop, one of those little power books. It has no external on/off switch for the wireless device. Its properties show the device as working properly.


I know for a fact there are networks available since my machine sees several of them and has perfect internet connectivity.


Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and have a good one.

M
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Hi;So let's take a look at a number of things:
Let's see how that pc "sees it's environment.
Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

Let's see how the wireless adapter looks in device manager
Let’s take a look at the status of the network adapters

Device manager:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.
1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
4. should be enabled and working properly.
5. If error code,what is it ?

It would be best if you could post a screen shot of Device Manager with the Network adapters and Other devices sections expanded.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

Let's make sure that all necessary network services are started.



Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
• COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
• Computer Browser
• DHCP Client
• DNS Client
• Network Connections
• Network Location Awareness
• Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
• Server
• TCP/IP Netbios helper
• Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
• WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
• Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic
If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
__________________


Then,let's see if we get any info from this utility.
Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
to upload it here.

Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.

Any error msgs when you try to connect ?
\Did this pc ever work wirelessly ?
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Sounds like a simple driver issue to me.

What's the exact make and model of the laptop?
 

Mklangelo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
426
Shooter, it is ... drum-roll please: Coby Model #: NBPC1023XPBLK



Made in China.

I think it would make a fine doorstop.
 

Mklangelo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
426
Hey, Pedroguy.

I don't have a thumbdrive and this Chinese thingy I'm trying to make work has no external media slot other than a memory card port.

So here is the jist of the ipconfig /all command. If there's anything you need from it I left out, just ask and I'll get it up asap.


Node type: Hybrid
IP Routing enabled: NO
WINS Proxy enabled: NO



Wireless LAN Adapter Wireless Network Connection

Media State: Media disconnected
Connection Specific DNS Suffix: None
Description: 802.00n wireless LAN Card
Physical Address: 00-......
DHCP Enabled: Yes
Autoconfig Enabled: Yes



DHCP is enabled on the Ethernet adapter as well as autoconfig.



Tunnel adapter isatap. DHCP not enabled. Autoconfig yes.


Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunnling Pseudo-Interface: DHCP not enabled. Autoconfig yes.


DEVICE MANAGER:


Network adapters listed:

1.)802.11n Wireless LAN Card

2.)Realtek PCIe Family Controller (All network adapters are working properly and no devices are red X, Yellow ? or !)




All services listed were running except for Computer Browser, which I started.


I can't get that WiFi Inspecto proggie. No thumb drive, no internet, no crossover cable either & no media ports I can use.



Thanks again in advance!
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
If the ip address is indeed all 0's,here are some possibilities.
IP Addresses all O’s
From a JohnWill post:



IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

Diagnosis:
1. DHCP Service not running.
2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
3. Bad NIC card drivers.
4. Defective NIC hardware.

Resolution:
1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
 

Mklangelo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
426
Perhaps I'm not digging deep enough, but I can't find any drivers for that computer. :(

------------------------------------------

But here is what I was able to get off of the Coby website.

Recovery Guide for NBPC1023

Manual

High Resolution Image

Coby - Support - User Manuals, Spec Sheets, and Software Driver Downloads

That last link is where you're supposed to be able to download drivers from, but it only gives me the above options. Can you see if you have any better luck?
Thanks so much for your time Shooter, but this thing was seeing networks galore just a few days ago.
 

Mklangelo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
426
If the ip address is indeed all 0's,here are some possibilities.
IP Addresses all O’s
From a JohnWill post:



IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

Diagnosis:
1. DHCP Service not running.
2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
3. Bad NIC card drivers.
4. Defective NIC hardware.

Resolution:
1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
Sorry, Pedroguy, the Physical Addresses of both the Wireless LAN Adapter and the Ethernet Adapter are valid addresses.

00-C0-91-00-EC-E3 and C0-9C-92-00-37-49 respectively.

The DHCP Client is Started and set to Automatic Startup.

I power cycled both modem and router and both machines. No joy.
I really appreciate your time on this. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top