1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No operating system found but it's operating

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by ccbene, Dec 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ccbene

    ccbene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Ran F12 to regain Operating system - long version. Says computer passes everything but there's no operating system found. Did this Twice. Tried "Operating System" CD that came w/ Studio 17 laptop. Hit option to run via CD & never got anywhere after an hour. Tried Reinstall Hardware disk that came w/ laptop. It shows Vista, but laptop came w/ Windows 7. See where it shows the system's checking things out, but never get anywhere. HELP!
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    check the boot order in the bios is set to

    cd first
    hard drive second

    if set correctly run dell diagnostics

    run the hard drive makers diagnostic on the hard drive
     
  4. ccbene

    ccbene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry, what is BIOS?

    I tried utilizing two different operating system disks provided by Dell to re-establish; tried hitting "disk drive" as suggested but only get "Loading DRMK Version 8.00" and then nothing happens (waited two hours +).
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  6. ccbene

    ccbene Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    ------
    It is set to "hard drive" first. Tried it before seeing ur msg. Had also tried cd-rom too. Tried disks that came / laptop - final msgs are "Loading DRMK Version 8.00", nothing ever happens.

    Obviously I am stuck. Sorry.
     
  7. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  8. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,595
  9. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    i got the links from a ms reply on one of their boards

    the fix link is no longer available

    other searching indicates the restore partition has been corrupted and a windows disk is needed to install
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082634