No operating system found message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vkim1019

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
5
When I boot my computer, I get a message saying, "No Operating System was found on any devices." Can anyone help me with this?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome.

What is the history of the machine...everything working fine up until now? You just turned it on and out of the blue it said that?
 

vkim1019

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
5
Yes. That is what happened. My sister and I have the same machine. Compaq Presario 7360. We bought them within a couple of weeks of each other. Hers did the same thing a week ago. She took it to a programmer who said the harddrive was bad, so he put a new one in for her. I find that hard to believe. I am assuming that the system files have been scrambled for some odd reason.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Ok, do you have a windows 98 boot disk?

If not, you can download one from here:

http://freepctech.com/pc/002/files010.shtml


Save it to your desktop, NOT to a floppy disk.....then double click on the file, and follow the instructions to create a boot disk....boot the problem computer with this disk....choose option 2, without cdrom support....once at the a: prompt, type:

sys c:

(space after the second s)
and hit enter

You should see a message saying system files transferred....

then take the disk out of the floppy drive and reboot.......
 

vkim1019

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
5
I did that. It didn't work. I ran scandisk too. That said nothing was found wrong, yet it still will not boot. I don't know what else to do.
 

vkim1019

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
5
Yes, it said that. I have tried everything, but with no luck. I think the harddrive was corupted somehow. I,m going to have to install a new harddrive. Do you anything about that? I haven't installed one in years. How would I transfer all the info from the old one? If you have any info, it would be greatly appreciated.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Most new hard drives come with very nice setup documentation. If you follow along, you should be fine. They also include a floppy disk that IF IT IS POSSIBLE that data can be retrieved from your old drive, you can just copy everything to the new drive.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top