no response by monitor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

trumpton1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
2
Just got a second user pc.....pentium 2 300 base unit to use for college. When attached 17' svga monitor it didnt respond at all and left me with a blank screen....pc booted up ok usual beep pattern but nothing happened at all even after several reboots.....Monitor works fine with other pc ...Can anyone help me to find root of problem?
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
If you know the monitor works on another pc (wouldn't hurt to try it on the other pc again just to be sure nothing happened since), then my guess would be the video card. Can you reseat it or place it in another slot? Can you try another card?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
ok,i know this may seem a lame answer,but you never know.
i have 2 monitor sockets(at least i think they are both monitor sockets........the monitor only works,that is,it only comes out of stand-by........in 1 of the sockets,many times ive plugged it in the wrong one,not thinking or remembering that fact.
well........you never know:rolleyes:
 

trumpton1

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
2
i have checked everything even the video card and i am still left with a blank screen.....The monitor works ok with my other pc but when i switch on the base unit of my second user pc it does not even beep to respond but just powers up and nothing else .....Please help
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Sorry but I have to ask since you didn't mention it...
How did you confirm that your card is not the problem? Did you try it in another PC or with a different monitor?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2001
Messages
1,091
I had a similar thing recently. Picture during BIOS boot-up when windows started monitor went to standby. Monitor worked on an other machine. My solution involved setting monitor to 640x480 screen size and minimum colours. Removing video driver from system and restarting plug and play found and reloaded driver.
My computer guru said maybe a game or suchlike had screwed the driver forcing into a low resolution mode!
Check your driver for your make of VDU also.

Hope this helps
Howard. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top