1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no response by monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by trumpton1, Dec 11, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. trumpton1

    trumpton1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Just got a second user pc.....pentium 2 300 base unit to use for college. When attached 17' svga monitor it didnt respond at all and left me with a blank screen....pc booted up ok usual beep pattern but nothing happened at all even after several reboots.....Monitor works fine with other pc ...Can anyone help me to find root of problem?
     
  2. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    If you know the monitor works on another pc (wouldn't hurt to try it on the other pc again just to be sure nothing happened since), then my guess would be the video card. Can you reseat it or place it in another slot? Can you try another card?
     
  3. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    ok,i know this may seem a lame answer,but you never know.
    i have 2 monitor sockets(at least i think they are both monitor sockets........the monitor only works,that is,it only comes out of stand-by........in 1 of the sockets,many times ive plugged it in the wrong one,not thinking or remembering that fact.
    well........you never know:rolleyes:
     
  4. trumpton1

    trumpton1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    i have checked everything even the video card and i am still left with a blank screen.....The monitor works ok with my other pc but when i switch on the base unit of my second user pc it does not even beep to respond but just powers up and nothing else .....Please help
     
  5. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Sorry but I have to ask since you didn't mention it...
    How did you confirm that your card is not the problem? Did you try it in another PC or with a different monitor?
     
  6. bigh47

    bigh47

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,091
    I had a similar thing recently. Picture during BIOS boot-up when windows started monitor went to standby. Monitor worked on an other machine. My solution involved setting monitor to 640x480 screen size and minimum colours. Removing video driver from system and restarting plug and play found and reloaded driver.
    My computer guru said maybe a game or suchlike had screwed the driver forcing into a low resolution mode!
    Check your driver for your make of VDU also.

    Hope this helps
    Howard. :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61456

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice