1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No setup data for hard drives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nigel1969, Dec 1, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nigel1969

nigel1969 Thread Starter

I have a P-233 with a master and slave hard drive that both have lost their bios info. When I boot the pc I get the message 'your master/slave hard drives have failed'. I hit DEL to enter the setup program and found that 'None' is entered under 'TYPE' for the Primary Master and Primary slave.

I opened the computer's case and examined the hard drive for the missing info and found the following:

C2247 001 592 77 3237 D15

How can I tell which numbers go where in the setup program under the following headings:

TYPE SIZE CYLS HEAD PRECOMP LANDZ SECTOR MODE

I am assuming that I'm thinking along the correct lines about solving the problem.

2. brianF

brianF

First did your cmos battery die, replace it if your not sure

Second, sorry to say not much help but every hit I get refers to that drive as a scsi. I know squat about scsi.

3. nigel1969

nigel1969 Thread Starter

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by brianF:
    First did your cmos battery die, replace it if your not sure

Second, sorry to say not much help but every hit I get refers to that drive as a scsi. I know squat about scsi.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't think the CMOS battery died. How can I be sure?

There are 2 drives and they both are IDE drives.

4. Chum

Chum

I know this may sound too simple, but did you try auto detect in BIOS?

5. nigel1969

nigel1969 Thread Starter