1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No share access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ultrevex, Apr 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ultrevex

    ultrevex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    I'm working in a new office environment and am set up as an AD admin on server 01 (win 2003), which is the Domain Controller. Server 02 is the fileserver and hosts the share. I can not map my workstation to the share to save my life! I can RDP to the file server fine, authenticate with my admin logon and perform anything I want while in but I simply cannot get to the share from my XP Pro workstation. I believe I have the profile settings correct and have joined my worksation to the domain, unjoined it, joined a local workgroup, unjoined....nothing. I also have tried using the built in admin username/pass, to no avail.

    Any thoughts?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,635
    First Name:
    James
    Do you have any internet security suites / 3rd party firewalls installed?
     
  3. Compaq__

    Compaq__

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    1. Make sure SERVER2 is a member of the domain.
    2. Make sure your workstation is a member of the domain
    3. Make sure you are logged in as a user that is a member of the DOMAIN ADMINS group.
    4. Check the SHARE on server 2 and make sure the SHARE permissions are set to allow R/W access for DOMAIN ADMINS or even EVERYONE.
    5. Check the NTFS security permissions on the shared folder and make sure domain admins has r/w rights.
     
  4. ultrevex

    ultrevex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks guys...got it. Step 4 above seemed to do it... actually added my logon as a user and it took, even though I was already a domain admin.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/699580

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice