No signal but pc is running

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Earthomon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
5
I recently added a new hard drive to my pc and while it was open I decided to clean it out with comopressed air and also I added a shock protector that I never got around to adding.
Since then when I turn on my pc, it lights up like normal and the fans spin and everything, but the monitor says no signal detected. I’ve tried hdmi and dvi and neither work. Also I hooked up a laptop using the same hdmi cable and monitor and it worked. Can anyone help me?

EDIT
I have tried connecting the hdmi directly to the motherboard and both slots on my gpu.
Motherboard is asus b350-plus
Graphics card is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3g
 
Last edited:

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,207
First Name
Chuck
Hi Earthomon, and welcome to TSG.

I don't think anyone here will be able to assist you based on the very limited amount of information you have given.

1) Please tell us the manufacturer and full model number of the computer and/or the motherboard.

2) If you are using a video controller expansion card, then tell us the name of the manufacturer and full model number of the video controller card (not the manufacturer and model number of the video controller IC on the board)

Based on that information, someone here may require more information.

a) If you are using a video controller expansion card, have you made sure that you are connecting the monitor to the card and not to any built-in controller on the motherboard? Have you made sure the card is still fully plugged into the motherboard? If the card needs a separate direct connection from the power supply, have you made sure that cable is firmly attached.

EDIT:
b) If the new hard drive is an addition to the existing system, have you tried booting up the computer with the drive fully disconnected (power and data)?
 

Earthomon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
5
Hi Earthomon, and welcome to TSG.

I don't think anyone here will be able to assist you based on the very limited amount of information you have given.

1) Please tell us the manufacturer and full model number of the computer and/or the motherboard.

2) If you are using a video controller expansion card, then tell us the name of the manufacturer and full model number of the video controller card (not the manufacturer and model number of the video controller IC on the board)

Based on that information, someone here may require more information.

a) If you are using a video controller expansion card, have you made sure that you are connecting the monitor to the card and not to any built-in controller on the motherboard? Have you made sure the card is still fully plugged into the motherboard? If the card needs a separate direct connection from the power supply, have you made sure that cable is firmly attached.

EDIT:
b) If the new hard drive is an addition to the existing system, have you tried booting up the computer with the drive fully disconnected (power and data)?
1: the motherboard is a asus prime b350-plus, I don’t know which one is the model number but the image attached might be it.
2+2a: not using a video controller expansion card
B) Yes I have disconnected the new hard drive entirely
 

Attachments

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,207
First Name
Chuck
Does that particular motherboard have a speaker for beep codes on power-up? If so, are you getting any beeps?

EDIT: Are you overclocking?
 

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,207
First Name
Chuck
If the link below is for the manual for your specific ASUS motherboard, then it has a system warning speaker output on the front panel audio header (page 1-4). If your case has a small built in speaker connect it tot he correct audio header pins. Otherwise any old small unamplified speaker will temporarily do for testing. The beep pattern from the speaker will allow you to confirm that the motherboard is passing its built in self test on power up or how it is failing.

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/...E13723_PRIME_B350-PLUS_UM_V3_WEB_20171114.pdf
 

Earthomon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
5
image.jpg image.jpg Does the speaker have to be one that connects directly to the motherboard? Cuz my case doesn’t have one and I don’t have one lying around.

EDIT: I found some speakers from a friend and I don’t know if these are the kind of speakers that will beep. If so I turned on the pc and there was no sound at all coming from the speakers. Also these are working because when I mess with the green wire there is a deep noise that comes out
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
OK, just because the motherboard has a video output, does not mean it is going to work. That motherboard supports a large number of processors and only some of them have video. If you have a high performance ryzen processor, it has no video and of course nothing would be displayed. Some of the VERY high end ryzen boards do not even have an onboard port since anyone paying that much for a motherboard would not use onboard video.

The speaker you need is one like this pic. These connect directly to the motherboard.
Next it would help if you posted the exact processor you are using.
I recently added a new hard drive to my pc and while it was open I decided to clean it out with comopressed air
Exactly how did you clean out the system ie did you use a can of compressed air or did you use something like an air compressor? If it was the latter, it is very possible to break parts using an air compressor.
 

Attachments

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,207
First Name
Chuck
Is the system in question the one in the photo with the blue glow behind the fan? If so, I looks like you have a video controller card with a DVI output plugged into the motherboard. The motherboard's onboard video probably disables itself to allow the use of the card.
 

Earthomon

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2018
Messages
5
OK, just because the motherboard has a video output, does not mean it is going to work. That motherboard supports a large number of processors and only some of them have video. If you have a high performance ryzen processor, it has no video and of course nothing would be displayed. Some of the VERY high end ryzen boards do not even have an onboard port since anyone paying that much for a motherboard would not use onboard video.

The speaker you need is one like this pic. These connect directly to the motherboard.
Next it would help if you posted the exact processor you are using.

Exactly how did you clean out the system ie did you use a can of compressed air or did you use something like an air compressor? If it was the latter, it is very possible to break parts using an air compressor.
I have a Ryven i
Is the system in question the one in the photo with the blue glow behind the fan? If so, I looks like you have a video controller card with a DVI output plugged into the motherboard. The motherboard's onboard video probably disables itself to allow the use of the card.
So I talked to a guy I know who is going to college for this and I took my gpu and put it into a different computer and it worked perfectly. He said it’s prob the motherboard and after hearing everything I did he said to use my warranty to try to get a replacement. I was a little rough on the motherboard while cleaning it so it makes sense. Thanks for the help but ima just buy a new one.
 

cwwozniak

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
65,207
First Name
Chuck
In the future also be more accurate when describing your problem and hardware setup. Your photo clearly shows a video controller expansion card being used. Yet, when I asked if you were using such a card, you said:
a: not using a video controller expansion card
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top