1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No signal from monitor after plugging VGA cable into Motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Crispy911, Feb 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    So tonight I shut down my computer and unplugged the VGA cable from my graphics card and tried to plug it into the VGA input on my motherboard. The reason for this was because I tried switched from dedicated graphics to integrated graphics (Long story). When it was plugged into the motherboard I tried switching my computer on and my monitor came up with 'no signal' and the light stayed orange. So I tried to plug The VGA cable back into my graphics card then I still got no signal!

    II've tried everything from re-seating the graphics card and RAM to trying different monitors and cables. It simply isn't working and all I did was unplug the VGA cable from my graphics card into my motherboard VGA input. I can't post any detailed system info as I am writing this on my iPod (very time consuming!) as I can't even do anything on my computer. But my monitor was displaying everything perfectly fine before I unplugged my VGA cable (when my computer was shut down) I don't see what's causing this.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Try resetting CMOS with the MB jumper or removing the MB battery.
     
  3. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Just done it, and it hasn't helped. I really don't know what could be causing this argh!
     
  4. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Beginning to sound like something "broke". Try removing your video card and only plug into the onboard video.
     
  5. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Wow that seems to have fixed it :/ The second I take my video card out and use on board graphics it's fine. Does this mean I have to replace my graphics card? I don't really fancy buying a 8800gt again :( thank you though norton this has really helped :).
     
  6. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Hopefully even though you reset it maybe BIOS was just screwed up.Boot up with onboard graphics. Press whatever key you need to go into Setup. Look for Onboard Devices which is usually a submenu (sometimes under Advanced) Change the Video option to PCI e. Save and shut down. Reinstall the 8800 and plug into it. Turn on computer
     
  7. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I don't see an option to go into onboard devices. I can go into an "advanced chipset features" menu then change the value of "PCIe root port function" from disabled to enabled but that's about it. Is this what you mean?

    There's also a menu called "integrated peripherals" but it has no video option just "onchip IDE/sata device, onchip pci device, super-IO device and onboard pci device".
     
  8. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    What model is your MB?
     
  9. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Abit I-45cv. My old motherboard failed and this is the replacement for it. I didn't get to choose it a repairman just installed it and I have no manual or anything.
     
  10. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    The manual was pretty useless and I don't know what that first BIOS settings does. I do have a suggestion, but probably would suggest that you see if anyone else has an idea.

    I think that your MB should automatically switch from onboard to the new card. You could put it back in and see what happens.

    The problem with this is that you have video now and it would be a shame to lose it
     
  11. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I tried it and it still didn't work. Something strange that happens is that if I plug the vga cable into port 1 of the graphics card the screen comes on but stays black and the monitor light is green but it has a signal, just nothing comes up on screen (no writing/ splash screen etc).

    If i plug the cable into port 2, the monitor light stays orange and the screen has no signal. No matter what I do though my computer still boots up fine as I hear the vista logo come up. I've always used port 2 though in the past.

    So right now i'm stuck with on board graphics.
     
  12. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Any way to try another video card or test the one you have on another system?
     
  13. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    No I don't have a different computer or video card. This is really getting on my nerves all I did was unplug my VGA cable then my graphics card just doesn't give my monitor a signal and even if it does my screen just stays black!

    Edit: I noticed my power supply fan isn't spinning. Could this have anything to do with this?
     
  14. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Yes it could
     
  15. Crispy911

    Crispy911 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hmm I hope it's just hope it's something in the bios I have to change. I tried disabling my onboard graphics then putting my graphics card in but that didn't work. I'm out of options ahhhh.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/981719