1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No signal to monitor after installing new video card or re-installing old one . . .

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Epower, Apr 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Epower

    Epower Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Hello there,
    I recently swapped out my HD 6450 for a GTX 460 and after about two days I noticed my windows had done a auto-update and rebooting itself and was at my login prompt and my USB keyboard and mouse suddenly were not working at all the keyboard had no lights on either. I then proceeded to reboot the computer when I did this I suddenly had no signal coming from my video card. The card was still running its fan and everything else on the motherboard was running as well but no video.

    I then thought it might be a video card problem so I re-installed the HD 6450 and it seems to be doing the same thing.... I have been researching every thing I can possibly find on how to fix this issue however nothing seems to work and im almost thinking the PCI-E slot may be dead however the HD6450 runs its fan directly from the mobo through the slot and when I power the computer up with that card in it the fan spins like normal.

    Things I have tried so far...

    1. Ensured everything was seated properly and all cords were in the proper places.

    2. Reseated / Cleaned any dust off my RAM , HDD , Proccessor , all PSU cords going to mobo as well as USB cords. As well as did a mobo test by removing the RAM and booting to see if it beeped and it did ( with the RAM in place its giving me 1 short beep but thats been like that for a long time ).

    3. Reset my BIOS by removing the CMOS battery for abit as well as doing the jumper reset on my mobo.

    4. Ensured the BIOS had not switched to onboard somehow (I am using the onboard now which is working fine but I had to go into the BIOS to turn it on myself it was still in the PCI-E setting).

    5. I had removed the ATI drivers when I installed the GTX card but I did a restore to rollback to them when I attempted to use my HD6450 again and still nothing.

    6. I looked very closely at my PCI-e 16x slot doesnt appear to be any damage or broken pins.

    7. I have tested both of these video cards on a seperate computer and both are working as intended on it.

    Here are my specs

    -HP p7-1038 running Windows 7 home premium 64bit

    -AMD Phenom II X6 1065T Processor (6 CPUs), ~2.9GHz

    -12GB DDR3-1333 RAM

    -1.5TB SATA HDD

    -N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (Alvorix) Motherboard

    -CORSAIR Gaming Series GS600 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply (more than enough for either card )

    -Currently running off the onboard video HD4200 chipset also attempting to use
    HD 6450 512mb pci-e 16x card (the stock card ) / Zotac GTX 460SE 1024mb (my new one)

    I know from all I have read that I might be wasting my time and this is a slot or motherboard issue that may not be fixable but if anyone can think of anything it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks ,
    Eric
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,282
    could try a different power supply (just to rule it out)
     
  4. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    Based on your description and the things you have checked, the likely culprit in my opinion is the motherboard pci-e slot.

    You have confirmed the cards works, power problem is unlikely if the HD6450 only takes power from the motherboard (no seperate power cable) and it still doesn't work.
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  6. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    You don't need a 650w PSU for a GTX460, a good quality 450w / 500w unit will power it easily, NVidia minimum requirement for the card is 400w with 22 amps on the +12v rail.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1096403

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice