No Signal To Monitor

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

asdfbotone

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2018
Messages
7
My computer was working just fine an hour ago. When i would try to play vr games most would freeze and crash 10-15 minutes in. I found that i was only using 4g of ram even though i have two 4g sticks. I turned off my computer and removed both sticks and then put them both back in. I turned my computer back on and now my monitor is getting no signal and my graphics card fans only spin for about 5 seconds then stop. When my computer was working fine earlier they never stopped spinning. I have tried swapping the ram into different slots, only using 1 stick at a time in all 4 slots, unplugging everything from the power supply and plugging them back in, removing the graphics card and resetting the cmos but i'm still getting no signal to my monitor.

Specs:
Gigabyte AB350M-GAMING 3
MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Gaming x 4G
Corsair CX450M
G.Skill - NT Series 8 GB (2x4 GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 3.2 GHz 6-Core
Seagate Barracuda 2 TB 3.5" 7200RPM
 

asdfbotone

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2018
Messages
7
No, I wasn't wearing an antistatic wrist strap and the monitor and cable both work with other computers.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,399
Something has been zapped or possibly jostled loose somewhere.

Take it back down to -- bare bones -- out on a table. Nothing but:
  • motherboard (on a non-conductive surface),
  • CPU (w/heatsink),
  • RAM,
  • PSU,
  • video, keyboard and mouse.
Now see if it will boot into the BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,399
Not sounding good at all.

Next step would be to try some known-good RAM. If ok, then you know the RAM was the problem. If still no luck though, try a different known-good PSU.

Let us know what you find out ...
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,399
(y) Got my fingers crossed for you.

Recommend going ahead and getting a anti-static wrist strap as well.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
13,242
RAM sticks have a notch on the bottom, and it is not in the center. It is designed so that you can only correctly insert them in one direction. Check to see if the RAM sticks are wobbly, if they are then they were not inserted correctly. When inserted properly, the clasp on both ends should snap close automatically, you wouldn't need to close them manually.
 

asdfbotone

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 17, 2018
Messages
7
Ik that, im 100% sure both sticks are inserted correctly and i heard both sides click when inserted them.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top