1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No signal to monitor!!! :-(

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by frankbelgium, Jun 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. frankbelgium

    frankbelgium Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Hey all,

    OS: XP
    video card: Geforce FX

    I have serious problem, my monitor receives no signal anymore and therefore I can't acces my computer.
    The Video cable from pc to monitor is OK
    the monitor receives electricity.

    First action, tried another monitor (other video cable and other screen) => still no signal

    second action: tried an other video card. (this was a really old one => unplugged my geforce FX and plugged the other card into the PCI slot =>stil no signal!

    Does this mean that the problem will be made by the motherboard? :-(
    what can I do? to check what is really the problem? What if my motherboard is the cause? Will I still be able to acces all my ancient files and outlook mails?

    please help me out!
    greetings!
    Frank
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Firstly, look beyond the monitor.

    Is the PC actually booting (fans running is no guarantee of a successful boot)
    When you think it should have booted, try the CAPS Lock key, every time you press it the CAPS Lock light on the keyboard should toggle off and on. If this does not happen, the problem is that the PC has not booted, so naturally the monitor cannot display anything.

    If it was just the hard drive, you would still see the BIOS screen, so its probably deeper than that, based solely on your brief description. Some obscure HDD problems can prevent a boot however, and that type of failure could mean a thousand $ or more to recover the data (failed on-drive electronics).

    It could be the PSU, CPU, Motherboard or ....

    If you have access to another PC, I recommend removing the HDD from the failed PC and fitting it as a slave (make sure the jumper is set OK) and recover all your important files.
    In this situation you will need to "take ownership" of the files and folders on the old drive to get access from the host PC, that is done as below.
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=308421
     
  3. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    second action: tried an other video card. (this was a really old one => unplugged my geforce FX and plugged the other card into the PCI slot =>stil no signal!
    Not sure I would have expected this to work anyway, see if you can get another agp card to try. Also is your pc even posting? one short beep.
     
  4. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    no video is usually bad monitor, bad video card, or bad power supply, could also be ram, a bad hdd or cpu or mobo usually still gets you a bios screen.
     
  5. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Not so. The BIOS will only execute if the CPU is running, which relies on most of the motherboard as well.

    The BIOS is just code held in non volatile memory, it's not a CPU in it's own right.

    It therefore depends on the basic operation of the PC including some RAM (but not the HDD) in order to execute that code.
     
  6. Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Rumpo-Stiltskin

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    958
    Quite so.

    Sounds more like a motherboard or power issue since the PCI card didn't work either. :(

    Let us know what happened before this present state (was it sudden?) and exactly what happens when you power on the system now.

    There shouldn't be any problem as regards accessing your files (from a different machine - or this one when it's fixed).


    (Probably no harm in trying a BIOS reset and then having another go with the PCI video card.)
     
  7. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    You may be right could have sworn that w/o a cpu you still get a bios screen, havent tried that for a long while, memory might be failing me;)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/478157