1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No signal with hdmi output from laptop

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by djayyyyy, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. djayyyyy

    djayyyyy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hello I own Asus u81a-rx05 laptop.

    Today I wanted to watch a video stored in my laptop on my tv so I hook up the hdmi cable to the tv and my laptop.

    My laptop detects my tv but no image is displayed on my tv.
    It worked before but i dont know why its not working now...

    Latop detects the samsung 1080p tv 60hz.

    "no signal" is displayed on my tv even if i change it to extended display or just projector(copy whats on my laptop screen)

    I'm 100% sure that the cable is not the problem because i tested on my ps3.

    Any help would be nice. THANKS!
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Did you restart the PC........and is there a hotkey like FN+.......
     
  3. djayyyyy

    djayyyyy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I tried restarting and what do you mean by hot key??

    Like start button + P?
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    No sure but my Laptop had a hot key to switch from Laptop screen to TV or both......mine had a picture of a TV on one of the F keys
     
  5. djayyyyy

    djayyyyy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    OH yes i have it on f8 but even though its set as hdmi. Still no signal on tv :(
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Is the TV on the correct channel
     
  7. djayyyyy

    djayyyyy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Yep. I have it on hdmi 1 and hdmi cable is plugged in at hdmi 1.
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    and the laptop has a HDMI output port?
     
  9. djayyyyy

    djayyyyy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    yes...... i said i watched videos from my laptop on my tv before...
    it worked before and now its not working
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Anyway you can try another TV
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/911869

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice