1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no soound

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by retiredcop65, Jan 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. retiredcop65

    retiredcop65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hey I have a Acer aspire A20 with windows 2002 Home Ed. I few weeks ago the sound started for break up and now it does not play and itunes youtube or cds. I was told by a tech it sounds like a software problem and I would need to put in the cd for xp and make it factory again. Problem is I never got the cd in the box. So can I get one or I need to buy a cd.
     
  2. Laz123

    Laz123 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    204
    Have you looked in device manager for corrupt driver?
     
  3. retiredcop65

    retiredcop65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hey

    yes they did a systems check and found that wipe and a re install would be the best thing to do. Like I said the disk for windows xp was never in the box for this computer or I just never looked after I unpacked it for years ago. Looking on the net i see it is 134 dollars on amazon. I can live without the sound because I have a laptop . it just bugs the hell out of me to have something that is not 100 percent if you know what I mean. If I put another 60 dollars I can get a Dell OptiPlex 745 2.4GHz 500GB Desktop Computer (Refurbished).
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,252
    wipe and reinstall is a bit drastic for no sound.

    try start > run > sysdm.cpl > hardware tab and look for any yellow triangles. Chances are the driver got dumped.
     
  5. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,252
    and welcome to TSG. :)
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the complete model number of that Acer Aspire?

    Is it a laptop/notebook or a desktop?

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    When you say it does not play iTunes or U-Tube or CD's, are you referring to the lack of sound and not a problem with the CD/DVD drive?

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    If there's a hardware issue with the internal speakers, a factory restore or clean reinstall is NOT going to fix the problem.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. retiredcop65

    retiredcop65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    well checking the pcmcia and flash memory devics the M-systems diskonchip 2000 has a yellow circle on it.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    Are you going to answer the 3 questions in post #6?

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. retiredcop65

    retiredcop65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    desktop sa20
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    Go here

    Click the + in Or select a product category

    Click Desktop, Workstation - Aspire - Aspire SA20

    Click Driver tab

    Depending on whether your computer has C-Media or Realtek audio, click the orange icon to download and save the file.

    The file is in .zip format, so it needs to be downloaded and saved inside a new folder that you create for it on the desktop.

    After it's been downloaded and saved inside that new folder, extract its contents inside that folder.

    Double-click the "setup.exe" file to install the driver.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. retiredcop65

    retiredcop65 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    hey

    well checked that out and the sound comes in and out the yellow dot is still there . realtek working fine the systems says. thnaks for your input..
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,809
    First Name:
    Frank
    You're welcome.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085737

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice