1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No sound coming from my computer

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Fowlwing, Mar 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Alright, i have searched high and low for a fix to this but just cant figure it out.... days and days of searching and nothing, so now i bring it to a forum. I have a computer that has no sound. the speakers are plugged in and work. I do not have a sound icon in the bottome right corner task bar. when i go to try to fix that its greyed out and i cant click anything, i dont know what to do right now any help would be helpful
     
  2. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    You need to get the driver installed, post your system specs.
     
  3. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    how do i post system specs?
     
  4. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    anyone please?
     
  5. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    Make of computer> mod # ect. Go to control panel and click on sound and audio devices> click on voice , what does it say in default device?
     
  6. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    it says that there is no device....
     
  7. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    You havent given the info on your PC.Try and do a system restore. Restore point to before the sound was lost.
     
  8. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    there is no restore point because i havent used this computer in a long time. i have everest if that would help?
     
  9. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    also now i just tried to play a game i have played on this computer before, but now it wont work.... what the heck what do i do with this?
     
  10. catlady13

    catlady13

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    The game won't work or the computer won't work?
    Yes please use Everest and pleast post your motherboard make and model , your type and amount of ram , if your sound is onboard or do you have an add in card, the power supply unit make and model , your operating system. The more information that is posted the easier it is to help you.
     
  11. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    the game wont run. also the motherboard id is

    Motherboard ID 05/10/2007-MCP61-6A61KE11C-00

    name is unknown

    but with belarc it says all this crazy stuff

    Operating System System Model Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600)
    Install Language: English (United States)
    System Locale: English (United States) PCCHIPS A13G
    Enclosure Type: Desktop Processor a Main Circuit Board b 2.20 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64
    256 kilobyte primary memory cache
    1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    64-bit ready
    Not hyper-threaded Board: PCCHIPS A13G
    Bus Clock: 201 megahertz
    BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 05/10/2007 Drives Memory Modules c,d 160.03 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    150.51 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    HP DVD Writer 100j [CD-ROM drive]

    WDC WD1600JS-60MHB1 [Hard drive] (137.44 GB) -- drive 0, SMART Failure 2048 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

    Slot 'A0' has 1024 MB
    Slot 'A1' has 1024 MB
    Slot 'A2' is Empty
    Slot 'A3' is Empty
     
  12. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    is there any audio devices showing up in the Hardware Manager? (Control Panel-> System->hardware (tab)-> Device Manager
     
  13. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    Do you have any disc such as the disc that came with the pc? If so there should be a driver disc that came with the PC.
     
  14. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    Go to http://www.majorgeeks.com from there click on drivers and scroll down to realtekac97. Choose the driver for your operating system and download the driver
     
  15. Fowlwing

    Fowlwing Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    no audio devices showed up i think.... i dunno exactly what im lookin for

    no disks came with the computer

    went to the link downloaded it but still no sound.....
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/912140

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice