1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no sound coming from my headphones

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gerry_sue200, Nov 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gerry_sue200

    gerry_sue200 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    my headphones won't pick up any sound. i had to reload my OS and i think that is when the program started. i have tried moving the pegs to make sure that i had them in the correct holes. but i am out of ideas.
     
  2. Brlailea

    Brlailea

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    913
    Gerry messaged me in yahoo for help. So I mentioned this site and got them registered :)

    So first of all welcome to tsg. I had Gerry run belarc advisor and the sound card is a Creative SB Live! and the OS is XP Home.

    Anything Gerry can't answer message me and I will let you know :)
     
  3. gerry_sue200

    gerry_sue200 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    i can also wiggle the card up and down and it seems loose, however my other speakers are working correctly
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome to TSG from me as well.

    What do you mean when you say you can wiggle the card up and down? When, where and how are you doing this?

    Do you have a volume control icon at the lower right hand corner of your screen?

    If you use your headphones in the front of the cdrom, with a music cd, can you hear sound?
     
  5. gerry_sue200

    gerry_sue200 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    hi candy. i can wiggle the pegs up in and down in the back of my PC.

    also, i jacks for my speakers and headphoes are in the back.

    the speakers have worked for cd's and games but the HP have not
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can we test the head phones in the front of the cdrom please?

    Also, I'm going to move us over to the hardware forums.
     
  7. gerry_sue200

    gerry_sue200 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    there is no place in the front of my PC to put the headphones

    they are just in the back
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    On the front of the cd drive itself, by the volume control, there is no place to plug a headset?

    Do we know for certain this head set works?
     
  9. Brlailea

    Brlailea

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    913
    Pretty sure . Gerry said it was purchased recently .
     
  10. gerry_sue200

    gerry_sue200 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    no - there is just a place in the back to hook them up

    and no volume control by the cd

    this is a gateway.

    the headphones before this was working good when the sound

    quit - but i wanted to make sure the HP were not the prob

    so i bought HP yesterday - so i would have to say it is not the HP
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Gateway model #?

    Open the volume control icon in the lower right hand corner, go to options, properties, playback, place a check in everything.........then go back to check volume levels....the only thing that should be muted is the mic.
     
  12. DaftMule

    DaftMule

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    If you plug the headphones into the socket where you plug in the speakers, do they work?

    As you have an SB Live card, have you got the Creative Toolbar thing on your desktop...in there, under the speaker option, select headphones...do they work then?
     
  13. gerry_sue200

    gerry_sue200 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    MFATXSTL ELP 500C is the model number

    and there were checked and the mic was muted
     
  14. gerry_sue200

    gerry_sue200 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    i have moved the HP to the speakers and i can hear thru the HP

    although it is some static -

    i have changed the option to headphones
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Per chance is there a headphone connector on your speakers?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/103948

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice