No sound... from computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pAnDa Is UgLy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
13
My computer recently crashed. I reinstalled everything that i needed and i come to find that i have no sound from my monitor speakers or from my normal speakers, or out of my headphones. My sound card is integrated onto the motherboard and im not the best with computers

If anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You likely need to install the sound drivers. But to help you we need to know what kind of computer you have. Is it brand name like a Dell or HP? If so what is the make and model of it? If its a custom built system then we need to know what motherboard you have, a program like SIW can help you find that out: http://www.gtopala.com/siw-download.html
 

pAnDa Is UgLy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
13
i downloaded that program and opened it, went to motherboard and this is what i got.

and under system summary next to manufacturer ots just blank

Property Value
Manufacturer
Model SiS-648FX
Version
Serial Number

North Bridge SiS 648FX Revision 51
South Bridge SiS 964 Revision 51

CPU Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1.80GHz
Cpu Socket Socket 478 mPGA

System Slots 4 PCI, 1 AGP

Memory Summary
Maximum Capacity 3072 MBytes
Maximum Memory Module Size 1024 MBytes
Memory Slots 3
Error Correction None

Warning! Accuracy of DMI data cannot be guaranteed
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Is the computer an HP, or another brand name system?

You may have to open up the computer and see if the correct model number is printed on the mainboard.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
What is the exact model of the HP?

Was the board from HP? Or an off the shelf board? You may just have to open up the computer to see what is printed on the motherboard itself.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
OK, so back to my question. What model of HP do you have? And was the board a replacement from HP?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Then open up the computer and report what it says on the board.

And the HP model number is usually printed right on the case; front, side or back.
 

pAnDa Is UgLy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
13
We had to buy a new case because the mother board we bought was to big to fit in the hp case and we no longer have the HP case. I already wrote what the mother board said
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Well unfortunately thats not a model number that can be used to look it up. Do you have a bill for what you purchased or the motherboard box, or the CD's that should have come with the new motherboard?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top