1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No sound from monitor speakers

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by alijay, Oct 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alijay

    alijay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    I have sound from a "plugged in" earpiece but nothing from the speakers on the monitor.
    My PC is a Packard Bell BL IMED 1519 Media C with O/S XP SP3. I've checked all cable connections
    Any help please?
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Check the menu on the monitor itself,if the speakers are built in.
    There may be a volume control there.
     
  3. alijay

    alijay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Hi leroys1000
    Thanks but I had already made sure everything was set at max on the monitor and on the master volume control.
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Just to check,do you actually have an audio cable connected to
    the monitor from the computer?
    I know mine needs one if I use the built in speakers.
    They won't pass the audio through the video cable.
     
  5. GeoGeek

    GeoGeek

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    All monitors that have built-in speakers should have an audio jack similar to those that you have on regular speakers and on your earphones. Ensure that this audio jack is plugged into the green matching port on the back of your computer and see if this works.

    Good luck :D
     
  6. alijay

    alijay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Relax chaps
    All is well. During a recent replacement of my router and the inevitable spring clean behind the PC by my wife the audio line got replgged into the blue socket!!!!!
    Thanks GeoGeek for pointing out that it should be in the green socket.
    Regards Alijay
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/866437

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice