1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No sound from optical out on Chaintech AV-710

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Freaktown, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Freaktown

    Freaktown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I just installed a Chaintech AV-710 sound card in my living room HTPC so that I can use it's optical connection with my home theater receiver. It is a KOSS KS3102. I have everything hooked up properly, but I cannot get any sound when I use the optical cable. It works fine with a regular RCA cable. I want to use the optical so I will get Dolby 5.1 when watching DVDs on the computer. I made sure that the receiver was set on Optical input. The drivers I am using are from www.viaarena.com since Chaintech's drivers link was broken and everybody seems to recommend the viaarena drivers. The engine on the AV-710 is Envy24. Windows XP SP2. Any ideas? Thank you in advance.
     
  2. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    Other Thoughts: I had to jump through some hoops to make this thing work with XP and MCE 2005. The card installed fine, but it had difficulty switching between 48Khz (DD or DTS) and 44Khz (CD) sources over SPDIF. To fix it do the following: From the Envy24 Audio deck utility select the 5.1 channel setting, disable SPDIF and select "AUTO" detect. After you selected "AUTO" re-enable SPDIF. The order is important or you will get locked into one format or the other even though it looks like auto is selected. Once this was solved it works like a champ. Excellent sound quality compared to onboard audio.

     
  3. Freaktown

    Freaktown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the reply. I will try that and post what happens.


     
  4. Freaktown

    Freaktown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I tried your suggestion. No go. I can't get the surround speakers or the LFE channel to work. Am I supposed to use Auto, AC3, or PCM? Any other suggestions? Thanks.


     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538345

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice