No sound in Window Me

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AnaV

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
5
I have a problem with the sound, i cant hear anything at all. I didnt install any hardware or software before this problem started, they stoped working at of now where. The speakers are external. On the device manager there is an yellow exclamation mark on this drive, C-media MPU-401 Driver [WDM], I think this might be the problem. My speakers did work before, I really dont know what happen. If anyone could help me, it would be a pleasure.

Thanks
Ana:)
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Email from user

I did check the chipset number cmi8330 sb16. I have that installed already. I guess i am missing the mpu 401 driver, and i dont know how to dowload the drive.
Thanks
Ana
mpu401 is the midiport driver, I beleive it really doesn't matter as long as you don't have a midi device attached to your machine.

Is the speaker in the taskbar, double click it, make sure that nothing is muted and the volumes are correct.

also go to start/settings/control panel/multimedia/audio, are the preferred devices set to your sound card.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
nuther email from user, Ana please hit the reply button to reply to the thread rather than email.

I DI CHECK EVERYTHING,i WENT TO DEVICE MANAGER AND TRIED TO UPDATE THE DRIVER, NOTHING HAPPEN. i WENT TO START-SETTINGS-CONTROL PANEL-SOUNDS AND MULTIMEDIA, THERE IS ONLY THE DRIVE CMI8330 AND AT THE BOTTOM THERE IS A SOUND VOLUME WHICH WE COULD CONTROL IT TO HIGH OR LOW, BUT MINE DOESNT MOVE AT ALL.
 

AnaV

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
5
Brian, what do I do next. You did not answer the last post that i sent you. Could you please responed back. I really miss the sound on my computer.LOL Without the speakers working its so boring.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Well sound cards really are not my forte along with I have never ran winme.

My thought would be to go to start/settings/control panel/add remove hardware, follow the prompts, remove your sound card, then reboot, let windows reinstall it, then install the drivers from the above link.

Maybe someone else will have some input.

When you doulble click the speaker icon in the taskbar, did you check and make sure nothing had the mute check bar, and that the volume levels where correct.
 

AnaV

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
5
i am going to do all that to see if it works. I have no icon on the taskbar. I am go to see what i could do.. Thanks anyway.
Ana
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
go to start/settings/control panel/multimedia, on the front tab of the dialogue box there should be a box to check to show volume control icon on taskbar
 

AnaV

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
5
I did check that but it doesnt let me move it. and it is all the way to the left side.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Let's see if we can get the sound volume icon back in systray. But first let's make sure systray is in fact enabled. Go to start, run msconfig and click on the "startup" tab. Is System Tray (systray.exe) present and checked?

If yes, go to Add/Remove program>Windows Setup>Multimedia>Details

If "volume control" is checked, uncheck it reboot and then recheck it and reboot. You will need your Windows CD or to point to the cab files on the hard drive when prompted. These may be c:\windows\options\cabs or c:\windows\options\install in some versions of WinME
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
for what its worth I had to do a system restore yesterday with the same problem. in ME its a snap to do. But are you sure you ever had sound...
 

AnaV

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2001
Messages
5
Yes, the sound was working before. I had gotton my pc reformatted a while back. Since than the sound didn't work, but than I had download the sound drive and it still didn't work. I tried everything but still no sound. If you can, can you please tell me how to the system restore it will be a great help.

Thanks
Ana
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top