1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no sound, I've tried everything

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Jicklus, Aug 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    So I logged into my computer this morning and there's no sound. My speakers do not show in playback. I've tried putting them in both audio jacks on the front and back of my computer. I've tried putting in my headphones. Nothing shows up. All I have in my playback is a device for my mic, and 4 duplicate devices that are all disconnected and are called NVIDIA Output. I've tried updating my audio driver. it doesn't work. I can't find my audio driver online so I can't uninstall it and reinstall it. In the device manager NVIDIA High Definition Audio shows up and there's no little warning signs or anything like that. it says it's running fine. My speakers do not show up in the devices.
     
  2. jenae

    jenae

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Hi, press the win + x keys together, select Powershell(admin) from the options, powershell will open.

    At the prompt type:- cmd (press enter)
    Keep the powershell window open, you can minimize it while you copy the cmds.

    Next:- copy both these cmd's separately, right click anywhere in the powershell window, the cmd will append to the prompt, press enter.
    Two notepads will be produced, copy and paste both here please.

    wmic sounddev get caption, DeviceID, PNPDeviceID, Manufacturer, status /format:list > 0 & notepad 0

    echo > 0 & sc qc Audiosrv >> 0 & sc queryex Audiosrv >> 0 & echo >> 0 & notepad 0
     
  3. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9


    Hi thank you for the reply, this means so much.

    1

    Caption=High Definition Audio Device
    DeviceID=HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_0071&SUBSYS_14623160&REV_1001\5&355819FF&0&0001
    Manufacturer=Microsoft
    PNPDeviceID=HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10DE&DEV_0071&SUBSYS_14623160&REV_1001\5&355819FF&0&0001
    Status=OK

    2

    ECHO is on.
    [SC] QueryServiceConfig SUCCESS

    SERVICE_NAME: Audiosrv
    TYPE : 10 WIN32_OWN_PROCESS
    START_TYPE : 2 AUTO_START
    ERROR_CONTROL : 1 NORMAL
    BINARY_PATH_NAME : C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe -k LocalServiceNetworkRestricted -p
    LOAD_ORDER_GROUP : AudioGroup
    TAG : 0
    DISPLAY_NAME : Windows Audio
    DEPENDENCIES : AudioEndpointBuilder
    : RpcSs
    SERVICE_START_NAME : NT AUTHORITY\LocalService

    SERVICE_NAME: Audiosrv
    TYPE : 10 WIN32_OWN_PROCESS
    STATE : 4 RUNNING
    (STOPPABLE, NOT_PAUSABLE, IGNORES_SHUTDOWN)
    WIN32_EXIT_CODE : 0 (0x0)
    SERVICE_EXIT_CODE : 0 (0x0)
    CHECKPOINT : 0x0
    WAIT_HINT : 0x0
    PID : 472
    FLAGS :
    ECHO is on.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    We know nothing about your computer, so please do the following in it:
    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    The "Sound Video And Game Controllers" heading in the Device Manager lists a NVIDIA High Definition Audio because your computer probably has a NVIDIA graphic device.
    Is there a second audio device listed?

    Is the monitor connected to the graphic device with a 15-pin VGA connection or with a HDMI or DVI connection?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8600K CPU @ 3.60GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 158 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 6
    RAM: 8110 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (361 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., PRIME H310M-K
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

    the only device listed in Sound Video and Game Controllers is 'High Definition Audio Device'
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    While I'm researching the motherboard in your computer, please answer my last question.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    ah sorry, it's connected to my graphics card via a HDMI cable
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    ASUS PRIME H310M-K (motherboard support site)

    According to its specifications section, it has an integrated Realtek ALC887 High Definition Audio device.

    According to your TSGSIU log, your computer has a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 graphic card.

    That means there should be 2 audio devices listed in the "Sound Video And Game Controllers" heading in the Device Manager.

    It appears you don't have the driver installed for either audio device.

    If you did, there should be these 2 entries in that heading:
    NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Expand the "Display Adapters" heading in the Device Manager.

    Double-click the NVIDIA graphic device to open its properties windows, then click the "Driver" tab.

    What's the exact driver version listed there?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    So I need to download those? i did try looking for the NVIDIA High Definition Audio and i couldn't find it anywhere.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    Please reply to the second part of my last reply.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    apologies, it's 24.21.13.9836
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    THIS is the most current Windows 10 64-bit driver (24.21.13.9882) for the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 graphic device which was released a few days ago.
    Download and save it, then close all open windows.
    Double-click it to start the install process.
    Follow the instructions from there.
    If all goes well, the NVIDIA graphic driver and audio driver will install and update.

    Go HERE, then select "Windows 10 64-bit" for the operating system.
    Scroll down to "AUDIO", then click the blue download button for driver version 6.0.1.8382.
    Download and save that ZIP file into an empty folder, then close all open windows.
    Extract the contents of that file into that same folder.
    Double-click the "Setup.exe" file to start the install process.
    Follow the instructions from there.
    If all goes well, the Realtek audio driver will install and update.

    I'm getting ready to leave for a few hours, so I'll check back here later.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you so much for the help, I will make sure to donate.
     
  14. Jicklus

    Jicklus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    So the NVIDIA audio driver is installed and shows up in the device manager, but the Realtek audio driver does not. The installation seemed fine and I didn't see any errors, but when it tells me to restart, I do and it doesn't appear on the device manager. I've tried this twice. This means the sound still does not appear.
     
  15. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,699
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm sorry that installing the NVIDIA and Realtek drivers didn't help with resolving the sound issue.

    I've never used a HDMI connection with a graphic card, nor have I used other audio hardware besides a set of powered speakers.

    Since I'm not there to see your hardware setup, jenae or someone else here will need to help you.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1214001

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice