Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

No Sound! "No Audio Output Device is Istalled"

1K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  Oddba11 
#1 ·
Please help! I am NOT a techie, but have spoken to some and tried several repairs. I have a Sony VAIO VPCEA24FM laptop, running windows 7 64-bit and the sound has randomly stopped working (made no changes to anything that I know of). There is a red circle with an x in it on the volume icon on the taskbar, and when I hover over it it says "No Audio Output Device is Installed."

However, when I open the device manager and click under sound controllers, Intel (R) Display Audio is listed and if I click on it, it says this device is working properly. I tried to update the drivers and it says I have the most up to date. When I open sound on the control panel it says no audio device is installed and even when I right click and click "show disabled devices" nothing is shown. I have tried microsoftfixit, and it doesn't help.

I have also tried to download the Realtek High Definition Audio Driver from the Sony website, and it downloads and installs and then a window comes up that says it may not have installed properly, and asks, "reinstall with recommended settings?" i click ok and it gives me a message that says, "This update can only run on Microsoft Windows Vista, Microsoft Windows 7" and all there is is an "ok" button, which i click, and it does not reinstall. HELP I'M AT MY WIT'S END!

OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3758 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1751 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 466220 MB, Free - 343438 MB;
Motherboard: Sony Corporation, VAIO
Antivirus: Trend Micro Titanium, Disabled

See less See more
#2 ·
"No Audio Output Device is Installed" indicates the audio chipset is not found. This typically indicates the audio chpset is faulty.