1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no sound on my pc even if sound driver has been installed

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by botoyger, Mar 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. botoyger

    botoyger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    hi! i need help. i came across this site/forum after searching for a problem that i am having right now. i just did a clean install of WIN XP SP2 and reinstalled the drivers for my pc. my problem is that even after the sound driver has been installed, i dont see the sound icon on the system tray. i went to control panel > sounds and audio devices --- it shows that something is installed but i dont hear any sound. its the same problem that Richard was having (please see the "Utilities Issue" thread). i followed the instructions given there including downloading the driver from the link given there (http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads...=23&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false) but that did not solve the issue. i have installed the driver like 3 times or more, i cant remember anymore. belarc advisor shows that i have no multimedia installed im kinda frustrated. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

    computer specs:

    2.80 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    Board: Foxconn 661 7MI
    128 Megabytes Installed Memory
     
  2. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    Have you checked in the BIOS to see if it appears enabled?
     
  3. botoyger

    botoyger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    i checked in bios, yes. but uhm, im not sure if i know what to look for. the only reference to sound there as far as i can see didnt have a choice of enabling or disabling sound. what should i look for?
     
  4. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
  5. botoyger

    botoyger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    cool! thanks for the info. ill try this tonight. hope it works. :)
     
  6. botoyger

    botoyger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    This is what shows in Belarc. not sure if this is what you mean though. :(

    Controllers:
    Standard floppy disk controller
    Primary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x)
    Secondary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x)
    SiS 5513 IDE UDMA Controller
    Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller

    Display:
    SiS 661FX [Display adapter]
    COMPAQ V500 [Monitor] (13.8"vis, s/n 909BF26RJ301, February 1999)

    Bus Adapters:
    SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller (3x)

    Multimedia:
    None detected
     
  7. botoyger

    botoyger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    unfortunately, this did not do the trick. :( any other suggestions please?
     
  8. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
  9. botoyger

    botoyger Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    yeah, will try your suggestions. thanks. if all else fails, ill have to just reformat and install a fresh copy of windows again on the pc. whew!!!
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/695626