1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No sound via external speakers.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rshr56, May 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 2046 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 210, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 476937 MB, Free - 356101 MB;
    Motherboard: ACER, MCP73VE
    Antivirus: ThreatTrack Security VIPRE, Updated and Enabled

    I have no sound on my computer. I checked the control panel, under hardware and sound all the devices are said to be working. Tried to update the driver however stated I have the best driver for my computer and is in working order. The internal speakers do show that they are working via the analog monitors however I do not have any sound via the external speakers. I have tried rebooting the computer but still no sound.
    All cords are connected. Please help!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is this a laptop or desktop ?
    have these speakers worked in the past
    whats the make and model of the speakers are they switched ON and plugged in - what type of connector ?
     
  3. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    This is a desk top. The speakers are switched on, lites are lit and plugged in, with one male adapter connector, attached from the speakers to the computer tower. The speakers are ASI Audio Technologies Model GEMPU1-1G. The speakers came with the computer package setup. Yes, the speakers have worked in the past & have suffered no trauma. Thanks for your help, very appreciated.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have access to another device - like a laptop, mp3 player
    where you could test that the speakers still work
     
  5. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    I don't have any device to test them on currently. Midafternoon I can ask my tenant if he will test them for me on his laptop. I will post what the outcome is asap. Thanks again!
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i think that would help a lot , to identify where the problem lies - should have the same connector for the headphone socket on the laptop
     
  7. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13

    I got creative and found my old walkman! The speakers do work! I also plugged in my sony headphones into the tower and they did not work...however the headphones work on the walkman.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    excellent - so we know its a desktop tower issue now

    lets start with the obvious - the speaker is not muted at all?
     
  9. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    no the speakers are not muted...
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the make and exact model of the tower - i suspect an ACER

    in device manager what is the sound card listed ?

    what country are you in ?
     
  11. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Gateway DX4640 (The motherboard was replaced with Acer)
    Sound card? AverMedia M791 PCIe Combo Ntsc/Atsc (if this is not it where in device manager shall I look?)
    USA/ Mpls MN
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    just to confirm then

    you have replaced the motherboard with an ACER, MCP73VE
    is that correct

    from what I can find out - this board has onboard sound - BUT
    you have also installed a new sound card

    AverMedia M791 PCIe Combo Ntsc/Atsc

    is that correct ?

    should be under sound, heading

    in control panel
    under sounds and audio
     
  13. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    I am not sure of any of the specs of the motherboard...I never installed a new sound card or know if one was installed the AverMedia M791 PCIe Combo NTSC/ATSC could have been there all along. For all I know it may be a game controller. I went under sound in control panel and I did not see anything other than the speaker devices and the monitor device. Sorry I am not that computer worthy...
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK
    perhaps we can tell with a configuration program

    did you do anything when they stopped - like did windows do an update
    how long ago did they stop working ?

    it maybe worth looking at doing a restore to a date when they worked

    lets start with speccy
    http://www.piriform.com/speccy
    the free version - Its been a while since i downloaded - so check it does not install other PUP - Potentially Unwanted Programs

    I just downloaded and tested - from filehippo and it appears OK
     
  15. rshr56

    rshr56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    I have gone through speccy, what would you like to know form the Piriform Speccy Summary . I tried to save the information, then tried to copy to the message...my skills are not the greatest...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148599

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice