1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no start

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by moreno31, Dec 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I turn my computer on and it says startup repair and computer wont get past that and restart what can i do?
     
  2. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
  3. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Same result if you start hitting F8 immediately on startup and choose SafeMode?

    Do you have a Vista DVD?
     
  4. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    No just the basic
     
  5. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I dont know how to do safestart
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you mean no you do not have a Vista DVD or no it does the same trying SafeMode?
     
  7. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    No it dosent have vista dvd trying safemode
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Ok.....
     
  9. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    It does not have dvd vista and it does the same when on safestart. It turns off and restarts
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Understand....


    Does it have a recovery partition...... try press the F11 key on startup and see. BUT if it does and it works you WILL LOOSE ALL data.....if it doesn't you may need to borrow a Vista DVD and try a startup repair using the DVD.
     
  11. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Ok im teying the f11 right.now
     
  12. moreno31

    moreno31 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    No dice it says under.f11 that no enough info
     
  13. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Try and borrow a Vista disc and try a Startup repair
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031525

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice