1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no start

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by fujiimasucka, Oct 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fujiimasucka

    fujiimasucka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    i have a fried who cannot get online because when she boots up her computer , an error comes up when she gets to the desktop which says -n32xutil.dll is missing - and then windows shuts down.,any idea what is wrong ,thanks
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    If it is a 98 system have her tap f8 on startup and select command prompt. Then from the a prompt type c: then enter. Then type scanreg /restore and choose the oldest date available then reboot when complete.
     
  3. fujiimasucka

    fujiimasucka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    sorry it is 98 , i will call and get back to you, thanks
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    NOOOOOO

    Don't choose the oldest date......don't go back any further than you have to......and NEVER the oldest, it almost always fails.
     
  5. fujiimasucka

    fujiimasucka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    got it , the newest date is the one to pick,she is not at home but `will try later . what about the mising dll , she was on line and then when she tried to go back later , he computer made it to the desktop and then the error flashed , and shut her down . will doing as you asked , replace the missing file ?thanks
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Not really the newest one either :p If she can remember about when the problem started, that would be best, as the newest is probably today, unless she doesn't start up daily ;)

    I 'think' that is a norton file, do you know if Norton is loading in dos via autoexec.bat or config.sys?
     
  7. fujiimasucka

    fujiimasucka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10

    i don`t have a clue what you mean.how can she tell ,., and yes i do think she has norton anti-virus.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    If you can boot her machine to a command prompt only, by tapping the F 8 key.

    Once there type

    edit autoexec.bat
    then press enter

    Anything that refers to norton there?

    If not, then type

    edit config.sys
    and press enter

    anything there?
     
  9. fujiimasucka

    fujiimasucka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    i just chatted with her and she says someone rebooted it into safe mode and then started it up and now she has no error and can get on the net , wow that is strange.what do you think of that ?
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I think we should have tried that first :)

    Sometimes Norton plays tricks......
     
  11. fujiimasucka

    fujiimasucka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    so you would say it is a norton file which gave the error.oh well all is well and thanks for your help , most kind of you.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I'd still look to see if it's scanning in dos.....now that she's at the desktop, you can have her type

    start, run, sysedit and hit ok....check both of those tabs.
     
  13. fujiimasucka

    fujiimasucka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    will do , when i get a hold of her , thanks again.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169740

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice