No startup taskbar in XP Pro SP2

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

casey82

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
8
I just installed Windows XP Pro SP2 from XP Home SP2. After the installation my startup taskbar does not show up at the bottom of the screen. All of the desktop items still show up though. I ran spybot, Lavasoft Ad-Adware Se, and MaxSecure Spyware Detector V2.0 to get rid of all of the spyware. They each found spyware to get rid of, however I still cannot see my startup taskbar.

Here is a copy of my HighJack Log. If anyone can help please.

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 7:53:30 PM, on 11/6/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\iS3\Anti-Spyware\SZServer.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\devldr32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\STOPzilla!\STOPzilla.exe
C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
C:\Program Files\SpywareDetector\SDSystemTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_11\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Album Starter Edition\3.0\Apps\apdproxy.exe
C:\Program Files\Webroot\Accelerate\accelerate2002.exe
C:\Program Files\Washer\washer.exe
C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\pctspk.exe
C:\Program Files\SpywareDetector\SDService.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\SpywareBot\SpywareBot.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Mullarkey\.housecall6.6\HiJackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.comcast.net/home.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/sbcydsl/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Windows Internet Explorer provided by Comcast
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = :0
O2 - BHO: (no name) - b{761497bb-d6f0-462c-b6eb-d4daf1d92d43} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Comcast Toolbar - {4E7BD74F-2B8D-469E-93BE-BE2DF4D9AE29} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMCAS~1\COMCAS~1.DLL
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll (file missing)
O2 - BHO: STOPzilla Browser Helper Object - {E3215F20-3212-11D6-9F8B-00D0B743919D} - C:\Program Files\STOPzilla!\SZIEBHO.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll (file missing)
O3 - Toolbar: Comcast Toolbar - {4E7BD74F-2B8D-469E-93BE-BE2DF4D9AE29} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMCAS~1\COMCAS~1.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [tgcmd] C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe /server /startmonitor /deaf
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTraySD] C:\Program Files\SpywareDetector\SDSystemTray.exe -AUTO
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SDAutoLiveupdate] C:\Program Files\SpywareDetector\LiveUpdateSD.exe -AUTO
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_11\bin\jusched.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Photo Downloader] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Album Starter Edition\3.0\Apps\apdproxy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 8.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Accelerate2002] C:\Program Files\Webroot\Accelerate\accelerate2002.exe /S
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Speed racer] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBPCI5122k\PlayCenter\CTSRReg.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb04.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [washindex] C:\Program Files\Washer\washidx.exe "Mullarkey"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Washer] C:\Program Files\Washer\washer.exe /1
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MoneyAgent] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\Money Express.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpywareBot] C:\Program Files\SpywareBot\SpywareBot.exe -boot
O4 - HKCU\..\RunOnce: [washindex] C:\Program Files\Washer\washidx.exe "Mullarkey"
O4 - HKCU\..\RunServicesOnce: [washindex] C:\Program Files\Washer\washidx.exe
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-21-1449655655-1313911845-2221179514-1003\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-21-1449655655-1313911845-2221179514-1003\..\Run: [MoneyStartUp] c:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\Money Startup.exe (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-21-1449655655-1313911845-2221179514-1006\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-21-1449655655-1313911845-2221179514-1006\..\Run: [SpywareBot] C:\Program Files\SpywareBot\SpywareBot.exe -boot (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-21-1449655655-1313911845-2221179514-1006\..\RunOnce: [washindex] C:\Program Files\Washer\washidx.exe "Mullarkey" (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-21-1449655655-1313911845-2221179514-1006\..\RunServicesOnce: [washindex] C:\Program Files\Washer\washidx.exe (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [MySpaceIM] C:\Program Files\MySpace\IM\MySpaceIM.exe (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\RunOnce: [tscuninstall] %systemroot%\system32\tscupgrd.exe (User '?')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [MySpaceIM] C:\Program Files\MySpace\IM\MySpaceIM.exe (User 'Default user')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\RunOnce: [tscuninstall] %systemroot%\system32\tscupgrd.exe (User 'Default user')
O4 - Global Startup: WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_11\bin\npjpi150_11.dll (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_11\bin\npjpi150_11.dll (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra button: Support - {11DBB0B2-5C14-418A-8F18-27795C0D63E0} - C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\SIGNUP\Presario.htm (HKCU)
O16 - DPF: LearnKey LTF Applet - file://C:\WINDOWS\system32\lktest.cab
O16 - DPF: {02466323-75ED-11CF-A267-0020AF2546EA} (VivoActive Control) - http://player.vivo.com/ie/vvweb.cab
O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...apple.com/qt505/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {B942A249-D1E7-4C11-98AE-FCB76B08747F} (RealArcadeRdxIE Class) - http://games-dl.real.com/gameconsole/Bundler/CAB/RealArcadeRdxIE.cab
O16 - DPF: {C2FCEF52-ACE9-11D3-BEBD-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class) - http://security1.norton.com/SSC/SharedContent/sc/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {D18F962A-3722-4B59-B08D-28BB9EB2281E} (PhotosCtrl Class) - http://photos.yahoo.com/ocx/us/yexplorer1_9us.cab
O23 - Service: AutoComplete Service (Autocomplete) - Internet Washer - C:\PROGRA~1\SYSTEM~1\autocomp.exe
O23 - Service: Compaq Advisor (Compaq_RBA) - NeoPlanet - C:\Program Files\Compaq\Compaq Advisor\bin\compaq-rba.exe
O23 - Service: Google Updater Service (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: Norton Internet Security Service (NISSERV) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISSERV.EXE
O23 - Service: Norton Internet Security Accounts Manager (NISUM) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Driver Helper Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: PCTEL Speaker Phone (Pctspk) - PCtel, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\pctspk.exe
O23 - Service: SDService - Max Secure Software - C:\Program Files\SpywareDetector\SDService.exe
O23 - Service: Norton Internet Security Proxy Service (SymProxySvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\SymProxySvc.exe
O23 - Service: STOPzilla Service (szserver) - iS3, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\iS3\Anti-Spyware\SZServer.exe

--
End of file - 8741 bytes
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
138
It could be something else, but first have you tried moving your cursor to the very bottom of the screen until it turns into the resize arrows and then "pulled" the task bar back into sight.

If there's malware causing your problem, I can't help; but this would be the first thing to try. Sorry if this sounds patronizing; I don't mean it to be. You can also do this with the keyboard but I've forgotten the exact sequence to use.
 

casey82

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
8
Yes I have tried that, and I have tried to adjust the screen up/down/right/left, I have determined that it is not the screen or the settings in - control panel / startup menu, taskbar. If it is not some kind of virus then I can only assume that it is a bad install of XP PRO and maybe I need to install the software again. Unless anyone knows how to get to the command prompt besides the "run" program. If I could get to this then I could run a chkdisk r\.

Any ideas past this please comment.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
138
Does doing a Ctrl + Esc bring up the taskbar?

You might try this:
Ctrl + Alt + Del to bring up task manager
Go to File > New Task
Key in "explorer" (without the quotes)
Click Okay
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
138
There's also a edit you can do to the registry to enable the taskbar. However, I don't feel qualified to step you through it. "First, do no harm."

If restarting explorer doesn't work, maybe someone else here can tell you how to do the registry edit.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
138
Have you gone to Control Panel > Taskbar and Start Menu and seen if anything looks out of place? That's probably not it; but I suppose it's worth checking.
 

casey82

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
8
Yeah I looked at that too. Everything seems fine, the taskbar just doesn't come up. I'm thinking about doing an update install of my XP Pro to see if that will change anything. Maybe somewhere in the original install, some code got messed up or something. What do you think?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
138
I know that there's malware that can cause problems, and a registry error that can also cause the taskbar not to show up.

I can only give you the most basic of help; I'm not such an expert that I want to give someone advice beyond my knowledge.

When you tried the explorer thing in Task Manager, did you try ending the running explorer.exe process and then entering explorer.exe in New Task? You would probably want to close all other programs before trying this. If it doesn't work you might have to restart your computer.
 

casey82

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
8
I'm an idiot, I didn't end the explorer.exe process before trying to run it again. The taskbar is there now. thanks for replying so quickly though.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2007
Messages
138
casey82 said:
I'm an idiot, I didn't end the explorer.exe process before trying to run it again. The taskbar is there now. thanks for replying so quickly though.
Yahoo! I'm glad it worked for you. I know how frustrating these little computer problems can be.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top