1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No Task Bar/Start Button,

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by blssd1s, Oct 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Hope someone out there can HELP!!! me.

    Came home from work today on a Win XP Pro and 3 of the 5 logins have lost their Start menu/ Task Bar. I can't find it. When in safe mode it is there. When you scroll the mouse around it goes to the border of the top, left and bottome of the screen. to the right it will go way past the edge of the screen like it is going out into eternity then it take forever to scroll it back into view.


    I NEED HELP!!!

    blssd1s
    http://personalpages.tds.net/~blssd1s
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Do a system resstore to the day before from safe mode if possible.
     
  3. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    describe how and I will

    thanks
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Start/programs/accessories/system tools/system restore. Select the date just prior to the problems and enter. Your system will reboot on its own.
     
  5. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks mother board, it worked.

    Now I am having a problem with IE 6, it seems to lock up and have to send a lot of error reports. Don't know what the error code is?

    blssd1s

    __________
    "I have only one superstition, touch all the bases when I hit a homerun."
    Babe Ruth
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Download adaware , click the button to scan for updates and download any. Then do a scan and delete all it finds.Then if you continue to have problems download hijackthis , unzip it , do a scan, save the log then copy and paste it here.
     
  7. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    I downloaded ad-aware and quarentined and removed all of what i thought were hijack or ad programs. But IE couldn't find any thing after that. I restored all the quarentenes and had to reboot my computer and i have it back. How do I know what to get rid of and what not to?

    Thanks,
    blssd1s
     
  8. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
  9. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Every thing is working better. Popup have seem to disappear for now. now every time I log off, i get a Syscm.com "end now" dialog box. What is syscm.com

    blssd1s:cool:
     
  10. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    correction it is syscm.exe not com
     
  11. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
  12. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Dan O,
    It is not a worm as far as I can tell. I am still having problems with it.

    blssd1s
     
  13. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Taken from symantec


    Click Start, and click Run. The Run dialog box appears.
    Type regedit and then click OK. The Registry Editor opens.
    Navigate to and select the following subkey:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MCM

    Press Delete, and then click Yes to confirm.
    Navigate to and select the following subkey:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MicrosoftWindows\ CurrentVersion\Run

    In the right pane, select the following value:

    SysDrv c:\windows\system\sysmcm.exe

    Press Delete, and then click Yes to confirm.
    Exit the Registry Editor.

    To delete the file:
    Click Start, point to Find, and click Files or Folders.
    Make sure that "Look in" is set to (C:) and that Include subfolders is checked.
    In the Named box, type the following and then click Find Now:

    sysmcm.exe

    Windows will find the file and display it in the lower pane of the Find dialog box. It should be located in the \Windows\System folder.
    Select the file, press Delete, and then click Yes to confirm.
    Close the Find Files window.
    Right-click the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop, and click Empty Recycle Bin.
     
  14. blssd1s

    blssd1s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    mobo,
    I don't have the SYSMCM.EXE, I have the SYSCM.EXE. Nothing worked. I am going to contact symantec and see what they say.

    thanks,
    blssd1s
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170894

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice