1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No toolbar, No response on rt clk my computer, doesn't shut down

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by daisymae818, Jun 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daisymae818

    daisymae818 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Hi
    Just went through elimating a bunch of spyware as well as CleverIEhooker. Now I don't have a toolbar, (can't see it) but I can rt click and get task mgr to reboot or shut down. However, when I shut down or reboot it takes forever (if it does it at all). When the computer boots up, there is a 'tile' remaining in the middle of the desktop. refresh does not take care of it.
    Thanks for your help!
    xp home
     
  2. redhat9

    redhat9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Go to the bottom of the screen and see if it looks like this (LOOK BELOW). If so just move your cursor over the area, click and drag up. Hope this works
     

    Attached Files:

  3. daisymae818

    daisymae818 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    When I place the curser in the general are I get the double arrow. I click and try to drag it up -stretch it, but it doesn't work.
    Thanks for the try!
     
  4. redhat9

    redhat9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Okay I think your taskbar is locked. On your keyboard hit the Windows Logo key and hopefully the start menu will come up. Then go to control panel, if in the catagory view go to appearance and themes, taskbar and start menu, then if checked uncheck lock the taskbar. If under the classic view (icons all over) go to tasbar and start menu and uncheck lock the taskbar. Then try the reply that I previously posted. Hope this works!
     
  5. daisymae818

    daisymae818 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    I can rt clk and go to properties. Task bar is not locked. Windows button does not produce the start menu (or anything for that matter)
    Thanks again
     
  6. redhat9

    redhat9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    377
  7. daisymae818

    daisymae818 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Not sure if that's what happened. Rebooting does not work, nor did 'new task -Explorer' from the article.
    Thanks again for trying!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/238367

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice