Solved No valid ip address error, ethernet connection issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
I use a BT Broadband extender that has worked perfectly for a couple years now, extender meaning router to socket, and socket to pc connection. Today I went to make dinner and came back and my pc will no longer connect. Troubleshooting shows an error stating there is no valid ip address, I have tried resetting the ip and restarting my pc, my router and the extenders. They all still work perfectly fine for my housemates and their internet connection is also working perfectly fine. I thought perhaps the ethernet wire I am using is faulty, but replacing with one that works shows that it is not the wire. Sometimes when I run the trouble shooter it also states there are no errors but it still will not connect.

I have no idea what to try anymore and any help would be appreciated.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
can you plug the cable into a pc , that will check the main router the ports and the cable
if that works, then its a problem with the extender
have you tried resetting to factor and setting up again
 

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
can you plug the cable into a pc , that will check the main router the ports and the cable
if that works, then its a problem with the extender
have you tried resetting to factor and setting up again
Yes I have and it has not made any difference, also due to distance I can't connect a cable from the router to my pc to check this.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
when you connected the pc to the cable
did the pc work and get internet access?
 

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
when you connected the pc to the cable
did the pc work and get internet access?
My mistake I didn't respond to the whole message but edited my response just now. I have tried resetting to factory settings and THAT made no difference. But I cannot connect a wire to my pc from the router. However, I have tried a new extender and that did not work either, also my housemates uses the same extender type and the internet is working fine for them so I believe it is not the extenders.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
also my housemates uses the same extender type and the internet is working fine for them so I believe it is not the extenders.
same extender type
or the same physical device

so it works for everyone else except your one PC

correct
 

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
same extender type
or the same physical device

so it works for everyone else except your one PC

correct
Same extender type, we all connect to the main extender network and yes it works for them all but me.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
lets see an ipconfig /all
when you are connected with a cable to the router
------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all


We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - Please post back the results in a reply here.

If you cannot access the internet with this PC
You will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.
If you do not have another PC
Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries​

For Windows 8 or Windows 10
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
Now type CMD
Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Steve-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR A6210 WiFi USB3.0 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 2C-30-33-9E-05-B2
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.78(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 10 February 2017 22:20:48
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11 February 2017 22:20:47
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D8-CB-8A-C0-64-6E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.195.131(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
4.2.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{22D073C2-D19C-4B3B-9B4B-1191B34DFDCC}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
you have a wireless IP address
so did you connect with a cable as asked - or is this connected to the extender by wireless

if connected to the wireless extender - thats fine

next do a ping test
------------------------------------------------------------------------

PING & tracert tests

We would like to see the results from the following Ping Tests - post back the results in a reply here.

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to save/copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.
If you do not have another PC
Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the photo/image in a reply

For Windows 8 or Windows 10
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
Now type CMD
Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

In the command prompt window that opens, copy/paste or type the following command:

echo > 0.txt & PING 192.168.1.254 >> 0.txt & PING 98.138.253.109 >> 0.txt & PING google.com >> 0.txt & tracert google.com >> 0.txt & echo [/php] >> 0.txt & 0.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
Apologies, that was with a wireless connection. These are the results from my wired connection: ( I will post the ping test results in a separate comment).


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Steve-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D8-CB-8A-C0-64-6E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.195.131(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
4.2.2.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{22D073C2-D19C-4B3B-9B4B-1191B34DFDCC}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
ECHO is on.

Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 7ms, Average = 3ms

Pinging 98.138.254.109 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 98.138.254.109: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=49
Reply from 98.138.254.109: bytes=32 time=114ms TTL=49
Reply from 98.138.254.109: bytes=32 time=114ms TTL=49
Reply from 98.138.254.109: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 98.138.254.109:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 114ms, Maximum = 116ms, Average = 115ms

Pinging google.com [216.58.210.46] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54
Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=54
Reply from 216.58.210.46: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 216.58.210.46:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 8ms

Tracing route to google.com [216.58.210.46]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 3 ms 1 ms 1 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms be3-3106.psb-ir02.plus.net [195.166.143.140]
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 195.99.125.142
6 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 62.172.103.27
7 8 ms 9 ms 8 ms 109.159.253.67
8 53 ms 51 ms 15 ms 108.170.246.161
9 11 ms 9 ms 8 ms 108.170.232.105
10 9 ms 8 ms 7 ms lhr25s11-in-f14.1e100.net [216.58.210.46]

Trace complete.
[/php]
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
your not getting an IP on the LAN
But you have with wireless
and the ping tests say you are connected to the internet

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the Computer - or have you ever had on the Computer in the past. Note: most Computers come with a demo version pre-installed.

Any trial ware/ Demo versions - like Norton, Kaspersky or Mcafee which are often now pre-installed on Computers
Or any other free security suites like Zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
------------------------------------------------------------------------

do the following

Lets try doing a tcp/ip reset and see if that resolves your issue

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10


For Windows 8 or Windows 10
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

For windows Vista or Windows 7
Hold the Windows key and press R
Now type CMD
Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​
In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

  • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
  • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
  • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Resetting , failed. - This error will occur with windows 10 , so ignore.
Access is denied. - This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.
But running TCP/IP reset still can resolve issues , even with the above errors.

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste​

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
also the link has a Microsoft download Fix it , which will do the above for you

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Lionlady23

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 10, 2017
Messages
12
I did not save the results but I have rewritten the commands now with the following results:


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
There's no user specified settings to be reset.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
There's no user specified settings to be reset.


C:\Windows\system32>

However I still cannot connect.
Aside from windows firewall I do not have any others.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
also as asked
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the Computer - or have you ever had on the Computer in the past. Note: most Computers come with a demo version pre-installed.

connect to the wireless again - which one are you connecting to ?

open a webpage and type in the address filed
216.58.210.46

what is displayed on the webpage
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top