1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No video signal on power up after installing PSU and video card.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jma0322, Aug 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    I went to install new PSU and video card upgrades and now I'm not getting any video signal to my monitor on start up. I switched back to my old PSU and video card and I'm not getting anything on those either. I can hear the HDD spinning, the fans start up, and my DVD drive opens, but no video.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Well now attempting to power up just results in the fans turning very briefly and nothing. This is with the original PSU/video card.
     
  3. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    So upon further inspection, some of the capacitors on my mobo look like they may have popped. Would I have heard or smelled something if it happened while I was installing new hardware? This is pretty frustrating because I have no clue what I did wrong.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    Can you take a picture of the caps? It may have been a previous problem that only presented itself with the hardware swap.
     
  5. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Yeah give me a few mins.
    Actually my PC did have issues (possibly related?). The last HDD I had lost all its data right after several issues with crashing and weird sound problems.
     
  6. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Ok so in this image on the bottom right are the capacitors that have a rounded top (hard to really see) a couple are still perfectly flat. This is the only part of the motherboard where they're rounded.

    [​IMG]

    Here's a closer shot of that area, still hard to see from directly above.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    Ok, so good news and bad news. Bad news is the motherboard is garbage. Good news is that you didn't cause it, the appearance of caps is usually a sign of slow and progressive failure, they are not exploded from a power surge, etc.

    Looks like an HP, can you post the model of the system and/or the specs/models of the components?
     
  8. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Yeah, one minute. I actually just copied over my HDD which included a text file of my specs. Gonna cull it and C/p it.

    You could tell that about the mobo just from those pics? :)
     
  9. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Is this enough?

    Summary
    Operating System
    MS Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP2
    CPU
    AMD Phenom X4 9750
    Agena 65nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 401MHz (6-6-6-18)
    Motherboard
    PEGATRON CORPORATION NARRA3 (Socket AM2 )
    Graphics
    DELL 1907FP ([email protected])
    ATI Radeon HD 3650 (ASUStek Computer Inc)
    Hard Drives
    977GB Seagate ST310005 28AS SCSI Disk Device (RAID)
    Optical Drives
    Maxtor_ VirtualCDROM USB Device
    HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH10L SCSI CdRom Device
    Audio
    AMD High Definition Audio Device
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    So you can re-use your hard drives and optical drives, plus the new power supply and video card of course.

    You'll need a new copy of Windows as the pre-installled copy on the system is an OEM version that is only allowed to be used with that motherboard, its a licensing issue. Plus you can move up to Windows 7.

    You can re-use the processor and memory if you really want to as well, but you'll just have to pick a motherboard one generation behind that supports DDR2.
     
  11. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Hmmm.. I absolutely have to get windows all over again then? That's quite a cash dump and I'm broke :(.
    And the processor and ram are pretty obsolete huh? So I'm looking at about how much? $500?

    And how about the old case?
     
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    If its an HP case, you will want to dump it. Yes, you need to purchase a new copy of Windows; upgrade to Windows 7.
     
  13. Jma0322

    Jma0322 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Ok. Any suggestions on a case, mobo, and processor that are decent but not budget breaking?
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,970
    Here are some suggestions;
    1 Case
    2 Power supply
    3 Motherboard
    4 CPU
    5 Ram

    Note this is a basic budget build. If you intend to hard core game, then you need better quality parts. This will do basic office stuff, email, home theater, and light gaming.
     
  15. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    GIGABYTE GA-870A-USB3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard - $74.99 After Rebate: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128485

    AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HDX945WFGMBOX - $109.99: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103809

    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL - $35.99: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231277

    Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - $44.95 after rebate: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129042
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1011652

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice