1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

no wifi on laptop(device or DNS server is not responding)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Viktorija, Mar 23, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Viktorija

    Viktorija Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Wifi does not work anymore on my computer, but it works on my roommate's laptop and on my phone.
    When I try to go to some webpage, it says "hmm we can't reach this page". When I try to detect the problem it says "Your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resource (DNS server) is not responding". How should I fix this?
    My computer is Samsung NP905S3G, Windows 10. I am using "eduroam" wifi.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all


    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC
    You will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.
    If you do not have another PC
    Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries​

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Viktorija

    Viktorija Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I've done everything as you said. So:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : miau
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : vu.lt

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : (this info is not needed i guess)
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Hosted Network Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : (same here)
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : vu.lt
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR956x Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : (and here)
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fc91:8123:c2d0:2a95%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 172.26.179.232(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.224.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 2016 m. kovo 23 d., treŃiadienis 20:30:09
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 2016 m. kovo 23 d., treŃiadienis 21:31:24
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.26.160.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 193.219.94.28
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 390648356
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-AD-F9-44-18-67-B0-B3-54-07
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
    8.8.8.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you appear to be connected to the wireless OK
    would you try this
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    PING & tracert tests

    We would like to see the results from the following Ping Tests - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    echo > 0 & PING 172.26.160.1 >> 0 & PING 46.228.47.115 >> 0 & PING 8.8.8.8 >> 0 & tracert google.com >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Viktorija

    Viktorija Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    ECHO is on.

    Pinging 172.26.160.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 172.26.160.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    Pinging 46.228.47.115 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=267ms TTL=54
    Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=116ms TTL=54
    Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=54
    Reply from 46.228.47.115: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 46.228.47.115:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 85ms, Maximum = 267ms, Average = 139ms

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=54
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=54
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=54
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 89ms, Average = 71ms

    Tracing route to google.com [172.217.18.142]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 5 ms 3 ms 4 ms 192.168.43.1
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 614 ms 57 ms 63 ms 10.224.10.1
    4 30 ms 77 ms 54 ms 10.224.10.36
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 63 ms 73 ms 75 ms 84.15.10.173
    7 * 291 ms 202 ms 84.15.6.234
    8 134 ms 112 ms 99 ms 84.15.6.213
    9 45 ms 48 ms 46 ms 84.15.6.34
    10 146 ms 129 ms 136 ms 216.239.43.122
    11 150 ms 93 ms 132 ms 209.85.253.149
    12 133 ms 112 ms 136 ms arn02s05-in-f14.1e100.net [172.217.18.142]

    Trace complete.
    [/php]
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so you are able to get out onto the internet OK
    try
    echo > 0 & PING google.com >> 0 & PING 46.228.47.115 >> 0 & PING 8.8.8.8 >> 0 & tracert google.com >> 0 & echo [/php] >> 0 & notepad 0
     
  7. Viktorija

    Viktorija Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Internet started working now again! I don't know if these codes helped somehow (or they if they were used just to get some info) but the most important is that I have wifi now.
    Thank you so much for the help and effort :)
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    they would not have done anything
    lets see how it goes - but it maybe a security suite causing an issue
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past/
    Any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee which are often pre-installed on PCs
    Or any other free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Viktorija

    Viktorija Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I can see McAfee Security Scan Pus and Baidu Antivirus 2015 on my desktop. I do also have Windows Firewall with Advanced Security.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    McAfee Security Scan Plus
    Baidu Antivirus 2015
    You antivirus
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1168515

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice