1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No wireless internet connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by msfmafbmw, Jan 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    I have Windows Vista. I just bought a new NetGear router. My computer is Toshilba Satelite. My computer worked great on the old lYNKSYS router. Everyone in the family is connecting wirelessly to the new router. My computer says I am connected down in the right hand corner, but it will not connect to my internet explorer without being plugged into the router? Help, desperate!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    moved to networking forum

    can we see the following information ipconfig /all and ping tests - see below, when connected to the wireless

    also try tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the

    results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the

    internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the

    results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the

    internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above

    ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Min
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-A2-D8-47
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ad4f:5ba:eb72:d6ae%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 7:04:28 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 7:04:28 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318775265
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-D9-EA-47-00-1E-EC-39-D8-0D
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-39-D8-0D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b0a5:490d:34bd:141%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 09, 2011 12:10:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 7:03:55 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268443372
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-D9-EA-47-00-1E-EC-39-D8-0D
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.gateway.innflux.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4259014E-0570-45C4-A5A5-F9ECBE5A5
    E7C}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Rach>
     
  4. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Here are the results, I hope this is what you need
    THank you so much for helping me
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    we are seeing this type of issue with the Atheros AR5007EG when using security
    Log into the router and take off the wireless security and see if it now connects

    often by updating the driver it can resolve the issue
     
  6. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    How do I update the driver?
    Thank you so much
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you can goto device manager and right click on the adapter and then choose update and allow windows to use winodws update
    OR
    you can goto the pc manufacturers support website and using your exact model (or if dell TAG number) download the driver from there

    did it connect and work ok with no security ?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    I suggest trying both ways (if the first way doesn't work) etaf suggested for a driver update. Each way has apparently worked for at least one user.
     
  9. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    THank you both so much, I am trying your suggestions now. Crossing fingers... I'm not a techie so I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed.
     
  10. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Okay, I'm at Toshiba's support and there are tons of downloads available, many are drivers? What kind or name of driver do I need?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,246
    First Name:
    Terry
    The driver for the Atheros AR5007EG for your specific model of PC.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you still cant find - post the Exact Model Number and we can try and post a direct link (if possible) to the driver
     
  13. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    I do not find it on there site. THey have an Atheros, but not that one and it didn't work.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    exact model of your PC, should be on the PC somewhere
    this may also help

    Model:

    * Go to Start > Accessories > Command Prompt
    * Type, wmic computersystem get model
    * Press Enter
     
  15. msfmafbmw

    msfmafbmw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Satellite A205-S5000
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974001

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice