1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No wireless networks available to connect to or manage

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Peta0909, Aug 8, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Peta0909

    Peta0909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hi Everyone, I had a problem with my computer last week where I had a black screen. That has been resolved but left me unable to connect to my home wireless network. When I go to manage the networks there are none there. Other devices are still able to connect. I am using Windows 7 Home Premium, SP1 with a 64 bit operating system on a HP laptop. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the network adapter drivers and both came up ready. I still have the wifi icon in the bottom right with a red X though. Windows network diagnostics: "There might be a problem with the driver for the Wireless Network Connection adapter". I noticed the wifi adapter is a newer version but I am unable to roll back to the previous version. I have tried quite a lot of ideas but to no avail. If anyone has any ideas about how to fix the connection I would be very grateful. The connection was working this morning so I don't think it's a whole new network adapter to be installed.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the exact model of the HP
    we can re-install a driver from HP

    lets see a device manager screen shot
    also do a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager


    Please Post back a screen shot of the results in device manager as requested below.

    If the PC is currently unable to connect to the internet
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply​

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key.
    Device Manager screen should now open.
    You may see Device Manager on the left hand menu - Left click on Device Manager

    On a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    If the above does not work then

    For Windows 7 or Vista

    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
    Once you are in device manager then navigate to:

    network adapters, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
    are there any yellow ! ? or a X​

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    For windows Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, bottom right of your post are some buttons ("Upload File" button) and then select the file you want to upload, click on "Open", and the file will be attached to the post.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10


    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​
    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Resetting , failed. - This error will occur with windows 10 , so ignore.
    Access is denied. - This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.
    But running TCP/IP reset still can resolve issues , even with the above errors.

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste​

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

     
  3. Peta0909

    Peta0909 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Device Manager.JPG Commands.JPG Hi Wayne,

    The model of the laptop is HP pavilion g7 series 1261nr.

    I have attached the device manager screen shot and TCP/IP reset.
    There were no errors.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC
    You will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC
    Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply​

    http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i
    enter you details
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo to be used )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below
    Do NOT use any of the download managers offered - Cnet , just use the direct link below - and click on the download button
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Monitoring/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector.shtml
    http://download.cnet.com/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector/3000-18508_4-75758254.html


    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    Stand alone version of.net framework https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=49981
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    https://www.xirrus.com/free-tools/

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8 & 10
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool
    (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, or windows 10 Search, type "snip" and press enter)
    (From windows 10 - All Apps>Windows Accessories>Snipping Tool
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, bottom right of your post are some buttons ("Upload File" button) and then select the file you want to upload, click on "Open", and the file will be attached to the post.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1175910

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice