1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

No wireless or ethernet connection - not router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by OneAndOnlyMe, Apr 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    *I am not tech savvy, at all! I will need specifics on HOW to get somewhere/do something. A lot of the terminology used is completely foreign to me.* :D

    Weeks ago, my Toshiba Satellite P755-S5215 suddenly stopped having internet access. Instead of a 'connection' icon, I had a computer (??) icon with a red X over it. It said there were no drivers installed. At the time, I had the phone/email support of my computer-knowledgeable ex-husband, who has since decided to stop offering his help. With him, I was able to re-install all network adapters (which were showing the yellow triangle/exclamation mark..I have 7 WAN Miniports that still show this). I tried rebooting in safe-mode, I tried system restore (it says the specified object was not found), and when I tried to run the recovery disc, I go a pop-up message that said "This program does not have a file associated with it for performing this action..." :confused:

    I did something, as I now get the 'connection' icon, however it has the red X, and says no connections are available. My sons' computers/phones/tablets pick up the wireless, so I know there are connections available. I also tried to connect using an ethernet cable, but that didn't work, either.

    I appreciate any help that anyone has!
    Thank you!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see if we can get that working first

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router associated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port (some PCs do not have any lights on the LAN port - so ignore)
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager

    Please Post back the results in device manager as requested below

    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    If the above does not work then

    For Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager
    For Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm
    Once you are in device manager then navigate to:

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
    are there any yellow ! ? or a X​

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    For Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    For windows Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/
    For Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    The attached file is the screen shot of the device manager on my computer.

    Other computer specs:
    Manufacturer: Toshiba
    Model: Satellite P755
    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium
    Service Pack: Service Pack 1
    System Type: 64-bit Operating System
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did it work in safemode

    can we see an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I apologize for not posting the results of safe mode; no, it did not work.

    Here are the results of ipconfig/all.
    Please note (and I know you said I don't need to include it), there was no "Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface" in the document.


    IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : sd52f5df42
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 5:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-43-CD-6D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-43-CD-6D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 6150
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 40-25-C2-43-CD-6C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-70-F4-68-9A-9E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::dfb:75f1:d97d:bcb5%4(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.188.181(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) WiMAX 6150
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 64-D4-DA-59-A9-D4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a screen shot of the ethernet connection with a red X

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    The computer has Norton and McAfee.

    I ran the commands, and rebooted the computer. No error message (or anything else) appeared.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you do not want two security suites on the PC

    I would use the removal tools to get rid of both - see how below

    do you have a fully paid up subscription to these - if not , then we can put alternative on - if you do then make sure you have any keys or account passwords and you can re-install

    if you right click on the icon - do you have an enable option

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Check the wireless is switched ON
    theres often a physical switch or a combination of the FN and one of the F keys to toggle the wireless on/off
    often F2 is used - but note , not always - look for a symbol that looks a little like (( i ))

    is the wireless on?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Mcafee Removal Tool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS101331

    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html


    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us...&ispid=&pvid=f-core-cur&q=Norton+Removal+Tool

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I have the Constant Guard Protection Suite, which includes Norton, and comes with my internet service through Comcast/Xfinity. My son and I both have/had McAfee Security Scan Plus on our laptops, but we have no idea where it came from! The computers are both less than a year old.
     
  10. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I uninstalled both security suites. Obviously I couldn't download any removal tools.
     
  11. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you do need to run the removal tools - can you use another PC and copy onto a USB Stick ?
     
  13. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    I ran the removal tool for Norton (twice). However, you have to log into McAfee in order to obtain their removal tool. Since I don't even know where McAfee came from, I have no account. I did *try* to have them send sign-in info to my email, just in case, but...nothing
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    how are you connecting by cable or wireless ?

    did you try with a cable connected to the router in safemode ?

    lets see if the wireless can see any networks - can you put xirrus on the pc and post a screen shot

    also on both wireless and ethernet adapters - do the following for the following adapters
    Wireless N 6150
    Realtek pcie family controller


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

    right click on the
    Wireless N 6150
    and follow below and then repeat for the
    Realtek pcie family controller adapter
    and from the menu

    remove/uninstall the adapter

    Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  15. OneAndOnlyMe

    OneAndOnlyMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    We connect through wireless...and of course, I am attempting an ethernet connection.

    I uninstalled/reinstalled the drivers.

    I ran Xirrus, and a box popped up saying that a problem stopped it from working correctly. However, I moved the box, and took a screen shot of the program behind it. I am "The Black Hole"
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1095045

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice