1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Non Ad-hoc WiFi for Android Devices?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by moviebuff_1990, Oct 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moviebuff_1990

    moviebuff_1990 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Sorry if I sound like a complete novice (because I am one) but the problem basically presents itself.
    I have a Dell Inspiron with Windows Vista (don't ask me why) which is connected to the internet via an ethernet port (because I live in a college dorm).
    So I tried to convert this into a wifi for my Samsung phone and tablet androids by making it into an adhoc connection, but they didnt register it. After much Google-ing I realised that androids don't support ad-hoc connections.
    I even tried installing Connectify. But once again it created an ad-hoc connection as my laptop is Vista, which is incompatible.

    I also read all this stuff about rooting your phone etc. which basically scared the hell out of me because I don't want to damage my devices and I'm afraid I might just, if I mess it up. They work absolutely fine otherwise.

    So basically my question is, is there ANY way (an app, a software; no configuration required please) in which I can connect an android device to an Ethernet internet connection via Vista?

    Thanks in advance. Especially to those who can explain in easy language. :eek:

    Complete NOVICE
     
  2. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Your school may be using strict MAC address allocation (one student...one machine).

    Speak to the school's IT about this.
     
  3. moviebuff_1990

    moviebuff_1990 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Naah, i don't think so. My friends who have Macs, iPads and iPhones or Windows XP use the internet on multiple devices. I'm pretty sure that's not the issue.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024880

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice