1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Non-Responsive System

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by DEF1234, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Hello,

    When I switch my laptop on everything is fine and dandy for the first 30 minutes then everything becomes non-responsive and I can't do anything but press the power button. It's fine in safe mode so I have no idea what going on. Can anyone help? Thank in advance!
     
  2. Orumph

    Orumph

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    251
  3. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks for the suggestion but nothing was found...
     
  4. Orumph

    Orumph

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Well, it could be hardware or software related.

    I would tend to think software.

    Get Process Explorer http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx

    and watch it very carefully for any major jumps or sustained high processor usage.
    Generally above 30%

    try to notice if any processes are causing the problem.
     
  5. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    What colour am I watching??
     
  6. Orumph

    Orumph

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Generally red.
    But watch the CPU column.

    If you click on the CPU column, it will sort them by that, get the numbers to show at the top, you may have to click the CPU column twice.

    If any process is using more than 30% and you are not running any software other than start up software, then that is probably the one causing the problem.

    Post whatever processes are running consistantly higher than even 10%.
     
  7. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
  8. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Sounds like you need to replace the hard drive. I would copy off what you can now while you can.
     
  9. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    *Sigh* Only had it for a month...
     
  10. Orumph

    Orumph

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    I was going to suggest a hardware problem, but this is also indicative of a software issue.
    Especially if it is always approx. 30min into use. Hardware will be way more random.

    I would probably do what Rich-M says and get your data off there and then run Manufacturer Hard Drive Diags.

    With this type of problem it can be difficult to narrow down if it is not a hardware problem.
    If the hard drive checks out ok, then keep watching the processes till it locks up again.
     
  11. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    how do u run manufacturer hard drive diags?
     
  12. Orumph

    Orumph

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    You will need to find out if your drive is Seagate, Maxtor, Western Digital or other.
    You can try looking in Device manager...

    Right Click Computer / Manage / Device Manager / Disk Drives

    Try looking there and tell me what you see.
     
  13. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Maxtor 6 G160POUSB Device
    Toshiba MK1252GSX
     
  14. Orumph

    Orumph

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    whoopps, ignore that
     
  15. DEF1234

    DEF1234 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    O_O my head hurts lol would it be easier just to reinstall da whole OS?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/751950

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice