1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

non system disc error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by cgarfourme, Jan 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cgarfourme

    cgarfourme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    have ibm 380ed. have reformatted drive c: I am able to boot from boot disk, but when prompted to reboot to win98 OEM receive non system disc error.
    HELP!
    THANKS!
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome....

    Did you get Windows installed onto the hard drive? And if so, are you removing the floppy disk from the floppy drive before rebooting?
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Email from poster (it'll be easier if you reply back to the thread as I may be away)

    Nope, did not get windows installed and yes I did remove the floppy.

    Thanks!

    ******

    Then that is the reason you are getting that error message. There is nothing on the hard drive to boot to........are you able to use the floppy drive and cdrom at the same time? Have you tried running setup.exe to install windows?
     
  4. cgarfourme

    cgarfourme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    after I boot up via the startup disc I go to the CD ROM and go to setup.exe. It then goes to win98 setup, I hit enter and am prompted to remove floppy and restart. It is at that time on the restart I receive the error.

    Hope this helps!
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Once it goes into windows 98 setup, does it appear to do a normal install? Usually you aren't asked to remove disks until it finishes......Is this a full Windows 98 install cd?
     
  6. cgarfourme

    cgarfourme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    I can't even get it to that point. (installing that is) yes this is a full install CD. (Compaq OEM)
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I thought you said you had an IBM machine? You aren't going to be able to use a Compaq OEM Install CD on an IBM machine.........that's why it's OEM.....
     
  8. cgarfourme

    cgarfourme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    sorry, forgot about that reply thing.
    so, I got hosed by the guy that sold it to me?
    he said it would work in my machine!
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    That's ok, I reponded to your email too.....

    I would think so.........the Compaq cd searches for the serial number of the computer it came with.......at least all of the ones I've seen do.......

    I guess I'm wondering why you formatted the laptop to begin with.......what operating system used to be on it?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114285

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice