Non system disk error message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

j_carmona

Hi all, it's my first time on this forum and I warn you that I am not a very techy person.
My problem is, I have got a Gateway 120 pentium (I know it's an antique but I haven't got right now the money to upgrade). A few weeks back I loaded Nestscape 6, as it was running very slow (probably because of my old PC) i decided to uninstall (Using McAfee uninstaller) and reinstall Nestscape 4. When I try to install it, i got a message saying that there was not enough space on my C:/Temp folder. So I went in and saw a lot of files that i did not recognised, so i had the "very good" idea to send them to the recycling bin. I finally managed to install Netscape 4 and it asked me to restart my PC. I did just that and it's when i got the error message (non system disk ... press key when ready). I have obviously deleted some important files. I have put a floppy boot disk in, and manage to get to the C: prompt, typed win95 but still get the same message. I know one solution is to format my C: drive and reinstall, but i don't want to lose my data (i know i should back up stuff but hard to do with a floppy disk only). Can anyone help me to restart my PC, or tell me how i could copy some file very important to me (on floppy) before to formate the HD.
Those are the specs:
Gateway 120 pentium
80 Mg of RAM
6.4 HD (partioned in 3 parts C, D, and E)
Running Wind 95

In advance thanks very much

J Carmona

Try this. Start the Computer with the Bootdisk. Be sure it it the correct version for your Windows. Do not use a Win98 if you run Win95.

At the A:\>

type this and press enter.

Sys C:
That should make the drive bootable. Try getting into Windows now.

j_carmona