1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Non-System disk or disk error

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bananatacos, Jan 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bananatacos

    bananatacos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,

    I am new to this website and I am not sure if I am posting to the right form. Forgive me if I am.

    When I try to start my HP 2300 series it pops up saying "non-system disk or disk error replace and strike any key when ready" and I don't know how to fix it

    Does anyone know how to help?
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,075
    First Name:
    David
    Have you shut down and tried again?
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,953
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi bananatacos, and welcome to TSG.

    Your HP LaserJet 2300 series printer is displaying this message? I am only seeing printers when I do a Google search for "HP" "2300 Series".

    EDIT: If you are referring to some kind of desktop or laptop computer, do you have any discs in the optical drive or any storage devices plugged into any of the USB ports when turning on the computer? Does your HDD with operating system show up in the BIOS settings?
     
  4. bananatacos

    bananatacos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, I have
     
  5. bananatacos

    bananatacos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    I am so sorry, I got it mixed up with my printer.
    It is the EliteBook 2740p
    Nothing is connected to the laptop. And it doesn't
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,953
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Looks like part of your reply got cut off.

    It doesn't have an optical drive?
    The hard drive doesn't show up in the BIOS settings?

    If you have a memory card reader, is there a memory card in the reader?

    If the hard drive is showing up in the BIOS, can you change the settings so that it is the first item in the boot order list? If you still get the same error message after that, your hard drive may have failed.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221973

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice