1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

None of my programs are opening

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jia, Jun 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jia

    jia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    When I came on the computer today, the first thing that came up was a warning from Lavasoft Ad-Aware telling me something about a regkey being modified and then it said Allow or Block. I figured it was a bad thing, so I clicked block and went on. My Firefox was working fine. However, when I went to open my iTunes, nothing happened. The only program working for me was Firefox. So, I restarted my computer and all of my icons to different programs showed up as errors (I don't know if that's the right word, but none of them would open). So, since I couldn't run any of my anti-virus programs to do a scan, I went online and ran the Trend Micro House Call scan... But, each time I do it, it gets to a certain point and then my taskbar disappears and I can't get it back.

    I've tried searching everywhere for a solution but they all require me downloading something which doesn't work since I can't open any windows.

    This is a HUGE problem for me and it would be great if someone could help. I hope I gave enough information... I'm using Windows XP... but if that's not enough, I'll be glad to give more...

    Thanks!
     
  2. espressoguy

    espressoguy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,119
    It sounds like you might be infected. I would put this post into the security forum and let the experts there help you. Click on this link to get to the security forum.

    http://forums.techguy.org/54-security/
     
  3. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
  4. jia

    jia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Okay, I'll go post this over there..

    I tried that earlier but it wouldn't work because my computer will still unzip the folder, but it won't open the reg file inside it.
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    And you read this....
     
  6. jia

    jia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    No, actually, I didn't :eek:.

    But even when I did that (and it worked, thanks), I can't figure out how to get the EXE File Association Fix to work... I'm probably doing something wrong but I'm getting the same message when I click on it.
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    So you were able to open Registry Editor but it won't import the registry file you downloaded?
     
  8. jia

    jia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Nope. It just says that Window was unable to open the file.

    EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out. I just imported it through regedit... Thanks for helping!
     
  9. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    yeah, that was kind of the point to the Quote I had above.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/581625